book cover of The Universe Next Door

The Universe Next Door

(The first book in the Schrodinger's Cat series)
A novel by

The world you think you know doesn't exist. Everything you thought was there isn't. Everything you thought you had done, you haven't. Your past is different, but your future is the same. Welcome to The Universe Next Door, created by Robert Anton Wilson. This universe is filled More... with what could have been, and even what should have been. Here, the missing plutonium that a terrorist group turns into nuclear devices, the Mad Fishmonger, the future America known as Unistat, and the hero Benny Eggs Benedict are all a part of reality. While Eggs Benedict writes for the New York Times, the diminutive Markhov Chaney spreads his radical views under the guise of The Mgt. Juan Tootreego bobbles through life while Cagliostro the Great pleases everyone in their own individual way. We follow each of these people as they meet up with several peculiar characters such as Mary Margaret Wildeblood who is enjoying his newfound life as a woman and Hassan i Sabbah X, leader of the marijuana savvy group, the Illuminatus, and the President of Unistat. As they make their way through life in a confused state, they can't help but wonder what could have been, in the universe next door.

Used availability for Robert Anton Wilson's The Universe Next Door

Paperback Editions

November 1979 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: Schrodinger's Cat: The Universe Next Door
Author(s): Robert Anton Wilson
ISBN: 0-671-82114-8 / 978-0-671-82114-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pocket
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA