book cover of Chemistry

Chemistry

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track, perfect for fans of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You.

Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her onetime love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She's tormented by her failed research - and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life.

But there's another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles and with whom she can't make a life before finding success on her own. Eventually the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future and herself behind. And for the first time, she's confronted with a question she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want?

Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry - one in which the reactions can't be quantified, measured, and analyzed, one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Weike Wang's Chemistry

Hardback Editions

May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Chemistry: A novel
Author(s): Weike Wang
ISBN: 1-5247-3174-9 / 978-1-5247-3174-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Chemistry
Author(s): Weike Wang
ISBN: 1-925603-67-9 / 978-1-925603-67-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Chemistry: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Weike Wang
ISBN: 0-525-43222-1 / 978-0-525-43222-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Chemistry: A Novel
Author(s): Weike Wang
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Chemistry: A Novel
Author(s): Weike Wang
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Chemistry
Author(s): Weike Wang
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Chemistry: A novel
Author(s): Weike Wang
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA