book cover of Stasi Child
Added by 13 of our members

Stasi Child

(2015)
(The first book in the Oberleutnant Karen Muller series)
A novel by

 
 
In the shadow of the Berlin Wall, murder is never an open-and-shut case . . .

The award-winning, critically acclaimed Cold War crime thriller set in East Berlin - perfect for fans of Tom Rob Smith, Phillip Kerr and Joseph Kanon.
____________________________________

East Berlin, 1975 - When Oberleutnant Karin Müller is called to investigate a teenage girl's body at the foot of the Wall, she imagines she's seen it all before. But when she arrives she realises this is a death like no other. It seems the girl was trying to escape - but from the West.

Müller is a member of the People's Police, but in East Germany her power only stretches so far. The Stasi want her to discover the identity of the girl, but assure her the case is otherwise closed - and strongly discourage her from asking questions.

The evidence doesn't add up, and it soon becomes clear the crime scene has been staged. But this is not a regime that tolerates a curious mind, and Müller doesn't realise that the trail she's following will lead her dangerously close to home . . .

Stunningly authentic and brimming with moral ambiguity, STASI CHILD is the thrilling debut thriller for fans of Child 44 and An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris.
____________________________________

Praise for David Young:

'Excellent' The Times

'Thrilling' William Ryan

'Masterful' Daily Express

'Fast-paced' The Sun

'Superb. Reminded me of Robert Harris at his best' Mason Cross

'Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field' Abir Mukherjee

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"One of the best reads I’ve had in ages. With its masterful intertwining of dual storylines and its stark portrayal of life behind the Berlin Wall, this is a cracking debut." - David Jackson

"Deft, assured storytelling, a compelling new detective and a fascinating setting - I was up late to finish it!" - Gilly MacMillan

"Deep and dark, this debut is utterly gripping, sucking you in straight from the get go . . . a corker of an ending. Superb." - Nikki Owen


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Motherland
(Natalya Ivanova, book 1)
G D Abson
thumb
Gorky Park
(Arkady Renko, book 1)
Martin Cruz Smith
thumb
The Helper
(Callum Doyle, book 2)
David Jackson

Used availability for David Young's Stasi Child

Hardback Editions

August 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Stasi Child: A Karin Muller Thriller
Author(s): David Young
ISBN: 1-250-12175-2 / 978-1-250-12175-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Muller series)
Author(s): David Young
ISBN: 1-78577-006-3 / 978-1-78577-006-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Twenty7
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Stasi Child: A Chilling Cold War Thriller
Author(s): David Young
ISBN: 1-78577-047-0 / 978-1-78577-047-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: twenty7
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller
Author(s): David Young
ISBN: 1-78577-046-2 / 978-1-78577-046-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: twenty7
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

August 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


August 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Stasi Child
Author(s): David Young
ISBN: 1-5100-2508-1 / 978-1-5100-2508-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child: A Karin Muller Thriller
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Stasi Child: The award-winning Cold War crime thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Muller series)
Author(s): David Young
Publisher: twenty7
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU