Cheryl Zach's picture

Cheryl Zach

USA flag

aka Nicole Byrd

Cheryl Zach, a former teacher, is the author of over forty books for middle grade readers and young adults. Her book Benny and the No-Good Teacher was a nominee for the South Carolina Children's Book Award and her book, The Class Trip was an International Reading Association/Children's Book Award. Zach is the first young adult writer to be inducted into the Romance Writers of America's Hall of Fame. She was also the first recipient of Young Adult Network's Silver Diary Award. Her historical novel, Hearts Divided, won the 1996 Virginia Romance Writer's Holt Medallion in the Young Adult category. Her articles have appeared in The Writer magazine, Children's Writer, and the Writer's Handbook. Zach is the current chairperson of the SCBWI Regional Advisors.

Genres: Young Adult Romance, Romance, Young Adult Fiction
Smyth Vs. Smith
   1. Oh, Brother (1988)
   2. Stealing the Scene (1988)
   3. Tug of War (1988)
   4. More Than Friends (1989)
   5. Surprise, Surprise (1989)
   6. Growing Pains (1989)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availableno image available
Southern Angels
   1. Hearts Divided (1995)
   2. Winds of Betrayal (1995)
   3. A Dream of Freedom (1995)
   4. Love's Rebellion (1995)
thumbno image availablethumbno image available
   Twice a Fool (1984)
   Waiting for Amanda (1985)
   Fortune's Child (1985)
   Benny and the Crazy Contest (1991)
   Benny and the No-good Teacher (1992)
   Paradise (1994)
   Here Comes the Martian Mushroom (1994)
   Carrie's Gold (1997)
Non fiction
   Los Angeles (1990)
Series contributed to
First Love
   104. The Frog Princess (1982)
Dear Diary
   1. Runaway (1995)
   3. Family Secrets (1996)
   4. Secret Admirer (1999)
   7. Shadow Self (2000)
Tear Jerkers
   1. Runaway (1996)
Rita Awards Best Novel winner (1985) : The Frog Princess
Rita Awards Best Novel winner (1986) : Waiting for Amanda
Rita Awards Best Novel winner (1996) : Runaway

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors