book cover of The Storm

The Storm

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning 50 years of Bangladeshi history.

Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired, and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family's history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions.

Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa's story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anticolonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India.

With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm's devastating path - leading to the eye's calamitous landing - The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"This book is a marvel, combining the sweep of a saga with the precision of a page-turner. Arif Anwar moves us deftly through time and across borders, beautifully illustrating the strange intersections we call fate, and reminding us how the past shapes the present." - Rumaan Alam

"Complex, elegantly-composed, and page-turning at once, The Storm is a novel both grand and intimate in its scope. Arif Anwar's ability to inhabit a variety of characters across countries and time is nothing short of astounding. I adored this book." - Armando Lucas Correa

"Lovers whisper, immigration papers rustle, gunfire explodes as this novel sweeps backwards and forwards across continents and decades....The interconnected stories come alive with sensual detail....This is Bangladeshi history--all our history--as we enter a new world--our world--through the absorbing stories of The Storm." - Kim Echlin

"Arif Anwar's masterful storytelling crosses continents and generations, illuminating how personal choices can have sweeping repercussions. The Storm is an elegant, stunning novel that captured my imagination and my heart until the end." - Shilpi Somaya Gowda

"Arif Anwar's The Storm is a brilliantly textured tapestry exploring the natural and man-made disasters that define a human story. And like a true storm, it is by turns devastating, humbling and cathartic." - Nadia Hashimi


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Arif Anwar's The Storm

Hardback Editions

October 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Storm (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic)
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 1-4328-5789-4 / 978-1-4328-5789-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 1-5011-7450-9 / 978-1-5011-7450-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 1-4434-5422-2 / 978-1-4434-5422-3 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 9387561348 / 978-9387561342
Publisher: Aleph Book Company
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 1-4434-5421-4 / 978-1-4434-5421-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Storm
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 1-5082-5759-0 / 978-1-5082-5759-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
ISBN: 1-5082-6453-8 / 978-1-5082-6453-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Storm: A Novel
Author(s): Arif Anwar
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon CA