book cover of The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Three
Added by 1 of our members

The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Three

(The third book in the Calleshire Chronicles Omnibus series)
An omnibus of novels by

A set of compelling British whodunits featuring Detective Inspector Sloan - from a CWA Diamond Dagger winner and "most ingenious" author (The New Yorker).

Over the course of twenty-four crime novels set in the fictional County of Calleshire, England, and featuring the sleuthing team of shrewd Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan and his less-than-shrewd sidekick, Detective Constable William Crosby, award-winning author Catherine Aird maintained the perfect balance between cozy village mystery and police procedural. These three entertaining crime novels offer "the very best in British mystery" (The New Yorker).

Parting Breath: On the campus of the University of Calleshire, a young woman finds a student slumped against a cloister's column, covered in blood. Before he dies, he manages to breathe the words "twenty-six minutes" - which is all Sloan and Crosby have to go on to solve a case that's anything but elementary.

Some Die Eloquent: As Sloan learns he is about to become a father, a suspicious death demands his attention. It turns out that a murdered mistress at the Girls' Grammar School in Berebury was secretly a very wealthy woman. What was an elderly chemistry teacher doing with a small fortune - and who was willing to kill to get it?

Passing Strange: When the village spinster, a nurse who also played the organ every Sunday at church, is found strangled behind a fortune-teller's booth, Calleshire's greatest detective will need more than a crystal ball to see who killed her.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Devil's Garden
(DI Kelso Strang, book 3)
Aline Templeton
The Ghost Marriage
(Yan & Campbell, book 7)
Peter May

Used availability for Catherine Aird's The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Three

Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Three: Parting Breath, Some Die Eloquent, and Passing Strange
Author(s): Catherine Aird
Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU