book cover of The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Two

The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Two

(The second book in the Calleshire Chronicles Omnibus series)
An omnibus of novels by

A set of intriguing British whodunits featuring Detective Inspector Sloan - from a CWA Diamond Dagger winner and "most ingenious" author (The New Yorker).

Over the course of twenty-four crime novels set in the fictional County of Calleshire, England, and featuring the sleuthing team of shrewd Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan and his less-than-shrewd sidekick, Detective Constable William Crosby, award-winning author Catherine Aird maintained the perfect balance between cozy village mystery and police procedural. These three entertaining crime novels offer "the very best in British mystery" (The New Yorker).

A Late Phoenix: In the quaint Victorian town of Berebury, England, a skeleton has been found in the crater of a World War II bomb site. But this corpse is no buried casualty of the Blitz. The cause of death, Detective Inspector Sloan discovers, is a bullet to the spine.

His Burial Too: Detective Inspector Sloan puzzles over an industrialist crushed under the rubble of an old Saxon church tower. With no eyewitnesses and little evidence, the policeman doesn't seem to have a prayer of solving the case. And then a second body turns up.

Slight Mourning: Twelve friends sit down for supper at Strontfield Park - but only eleven survive the evening. After dinner, the host offers to drive one of his guests home, only to die in a violent accident. His autopsy shows that he ingested enough barbiturates to kill a horse, and now the guest list is Sloan's roster of suspects.

Similar books by other authors

A Lily of the Field
(Frederick Troy, book 7)
John Lawton
Emerald Lie
(Jack Taylor, book 12)
Ken Bruen

Used availability for Catherine Aird's The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Two

Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Calleshire Chronicles Volume Two: A Late Phoenix, His Burial Too, and Slight Mourning
Author(s): Catherine Aird
Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU