New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Ordinary People

Ordinary People

A collection of stories by

Spanning thirty years, this volume collects six stories, one poem, and a WisCon Guest of Honor speech. In the richly ironic ''Warlords of Saturn s Moons,'' first published in 1974, a cigar-puffing woman writes space-opera while the drama of real-life inner-city Detroit goes on around her; ''The Grammarian's Five Daughters'' offers a playful explication of the uses of the parts of speech; ''A Ceremony of Discontent'' takes a humorous approach to a modern-day feminist problem; and Arnason's wise, earthy tales of hwarhath serve up new myths explaining the origins of the world and morality (among other things). The work in this collection entertains with its wit, delights with its precision and imagination, and challenges and provokes with its bluntness. Ordinary People offers a small, potent taste of the oeuvre of an important author of feminist sf.

Eleanor Arnason s award-winning novel, A Woman of the Iron People, has won high praise from some of today's finest writers, including Ursula K. LeGuin, who wrote of it, ''At last, a nonpredictable, thought-through, can t-stop-reading-it story, full of complicated and irresistible people, some of them human. This fascinating novel asks some big, serious questions, and it gives no easy answers.'' And so with the stories in this collection. All of Arnason's characters, however ordinary, are complicated and irresistible, even or especially when they re being stubborn and grumpy.


Used availability for Eleanor Arnason's Ordinary People

Paperback Editions

May 2005 : USA Paperback

Title: Ordinary People (Conversation Pieces) (Volume 7)
Author(s): Eleanor Arnason
ISBN: 0-9746559-0-2 / 978-0-9746559-0-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Aqueduct Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2012 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Ordinary People (Conversation Pieces Book 7)
Author(s): Eleanor Arnason
Publisher: Aqueduct Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA