New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Ironside

Ironside

(2013)
(The first book in the Highwayman series)
A Novella by

 
 
England: 1655.

A nation reeling from the turmoil of bloody civil war. An island in the iron grip of Oliver Cromwell's Protectorate.

The forces of King Charles have been utterly defeated. The sovereign is dead, his supporters beaten, humiliated, and scattered.

But it is not just former Cavaliers who find themselves hounded by the new regime. Many of those who fought for Parliament have fallen foul of the oppressive rule of the Major-Generals.

One such man is Major Samson Lyle: Roundhead, outlaw, fugitive. Forced into exile after a dispute with the ruling elite, he has returned, intent on waging war against those now in command. Skilled with pistol and blade, Lyle takes the fight onto the busy roads south of the capital, forging a formidable reputation as a notorious highwayman.

Along with his trusted young ward Bella, and Eustace Grumm, an irascible former smuggler, Lyle dodges the ever-present threat of capture to menace those against whom he has sworn revenge. But when the robbery of a powerful lawyer alerts Lyle to the imprisonment of a former comrade, the Major is plunged into a dangerous game of intrigue and deceit that may finally prove his undoing. And he must tread carefully, for Parliament have dispatched their own man to hunt the elusive outlaw.

The villainous Colonel Francis Maddocks is tracking Lyle's every move, and soon he will come face to face with the Ironside Highwayman.

Highwayman: Ironside is a thrilling novella, which blends together action and intrigue. For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

Genre: Historical    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The King's Return
(Thomas Hill Trilogy, book 3)
Andrew Swanston
thumb
Longbow
(Saga of Roland Inness, book 1)
Wayne Grant
thumb
Warbow
(Saga of Roland Inness, book 2)
Wayne Grant
thumb
The Broken Realm
(Saga of Roland Inness, book 3)
Wayne Grant

Used availability for Michael Arnold's Ironside

Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Highwayman: Ironside
Author(s): Michael Arnold
Publisher: Michael Arnold
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Highwayman: Ironside
Author(s): Michael Arnold
Publisher: Michael Arnold
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Highwayman: Ironside
Author(s): Michael Arnold
Publisher: Michael Arnold
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, , Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Highwayman: Ironside
Author(s): Michael Arnold
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA