New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>

The Hiding Place

(2000)
A novel by

 
Awards
James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel (nominee)
Longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award this highly acclaimed first novel goes into pb 'Fans of Kate Atkinson and Andrea Ashworth will love this, Read it and weep Mirror This brilliant first novel is set in the Maltese community of Tiger Bay in Cardiff where the author grew up. Dolores, the narrator tells the story of her childhood - her father, Frankie, a compulsive gambler who, due to a misunderstanding at the moment of her birth (he is convinced that his wife will finally give birth to a boy after a multitude of daughters) loses everything to his rival Joe Medora, head of the Maltese Mafia. Frankie's gambling leads to the fire which disfigures Dolores. There is a terrifyingly vivid scene as Dolores remembers watching her hand being burnt in the fire that destroys their home and the moment when Joe claims one of Frankie's daughters as his own. The author evokes the world of Dolores and her family with brilliant power and sensitivity. The novel flits between past and present as Dolores reflects on her childhood and the lives that her father created for himself and his children.

 
Similar Books by other authors...

 
Used availability for Trezza Azzopardi's The Hiding Place


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2001 : USA Hardback
Title: The Hiding Place (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-7838-9483-X / 978-0-7838-9483-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: G K Hall & Co
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2000 : USA Hardback
Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-87113-815-8 / 978-0-87113-815-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2000 : UK Hardback
Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-39075-9 / 978-0-330-39075-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

February 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place: Picador Classic
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-5098-2755-2 / 978-1-5098-2755-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

July 2014 : UK Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-4472-7582-9 / 978-1-4472-7582-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

December 2001 : USA Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-8021-3859-4 / 978-0-8021-3859-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grove Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2001 : UK Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-48041-3 / 978-0-330-48041-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2000 : UK Mass Market Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-48779-5 / 978-0-330-48779-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

September 2000 : Canada Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-55263-161-3 / 978-1-55263-161-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Key Porter Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2000 : UK Paperback
Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-48650-0 / 978-0-330-48650-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

October 2015 : USA MP3 CD
Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-5012-2739-4 / 978-1-5012-2739-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2014 : USA Audio edition
Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

February 2017 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Hiding Place: Picador Classic
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

April 2011 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Hiding Place: Picador Classic
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   



Search for