New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Hiding Place

The Hiding Place

(2000)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel (nominee)
Longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award this highly acclaimed first novel goes into pb 'Fans of Kate Atkinson and Andrea Ashworth will love this, Read it and weep Mirror This brilliant first novel is set in the Maltese community of Tiger Bay in Cardiff where the author grew up. Dolores, the narrator tells the story of her childhood - her father, Frankie, a compulsive gambler who, due to a misunderstanding at the moment of her birth (he is convinced that his wife will finally give birth to a boy after a multitude of daughters) loses everything to his rival Joe Medora, head of the Maltese Mafia. Frankie's gambling leads to the fire which disfigures Dolores. There is a terrifyingly vivid scene as Dolores remembers watching her hand being burnt in the fire that destroys their home and the moment when Joe claims one of Frankie's daughters as his own. The author evokes the world of Dolores and her family with brilliant power and sensitivity. The novel flits between past and present as Dolores reflects on her childhood and the lives that her father created for himself and his children.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Trezza Azzopardi's The Hiding Place

Hardback Editions

June 2001 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-7838-9483-X / 978-0-7838-9483-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: G K Hall & Co
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2000 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-87113-815-8 / 978-0-87113-815-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2000 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-39075-9 / 978-0-330-39075-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: Picador Classic
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-5098-2755-2 / 978-1-5098-2755-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-4472-7582-9 / 978-1-4472-7582-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2001 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-8021-3859-4 / 978-0-8021-3859-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grove Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2001 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-48041-3 / 978-0-330-48041-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2000 : UK Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-48779-5 / 978-0-330-48779-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


September 2000 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-55263-161-3 / 978-1-55263-161-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Key Porter Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2000 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 0-330-48650-0 / 978-0-330-48650-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
ISBN: 1-5012-2739-4 / 978-1-5012-2739-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


June 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: A Novel
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hiding Place: Picador Classic
Author(s): Trezza Azzopardi
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK