book cover of Grave Expectations
Added by 73 members
 

Grave Expectations

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK
A KINDLE TOP 5 BESTSELLER

'Fast, funny and furious, this book has bags of humour, bags of heart and a proper murder mystery at its core' Janice Hallett



Claire and Sophie aren't your typical murder investigators . . .


When 30-something freelance medium Claire Hendricks is invited to an old university friend's country pile to provide entertainment for a family party, her best friend Sophie tags along. In fact, Sophie rarely leaves Claire's side, because she's been haunting her ever since she was murdered at the age of seventeen.

On arrival at The Cloisters it quickly becomes clear that this family is hiding more than just the good china, as Claire learns someone has recently met an untimely end at the house.

Teaming up with the least unbearable members of the Wellington-Forge family - depressive ex-cop Basher and teenage radical Alex - Claire and Sophie determine to figure out not just whodunnit, but who they killed, why and when.

Together they must race against incompetence to find the murderer - before the murderer finds them... in this funny, modern, media-literate mystery for the My Favourite Murder generation.
'Read this fabulous book' Ben Aaronovitch
'A delicious mashup of grisly murder, country house and semi-helpful ghosts' Stuart MacBride
'Fresh, funny and hugely enjoyable' Catherine Ryan Howard
Genre: Cozy Mystery

Praise for this book

"Read this fabulous book - you will not regret it." - Ben Aaronovitch

"A very funny, entertaining, twisted take on the country house murder mystery. Wonderful." - S J Bennett

"An addictive, hilarious, rollicking debut - fresh, original and utterly brilliant, Alice Bell is a real talent to watch. I cannot WAIT for the next book!" - Sam Blake

"A really unique concept paired with whip-smart writing and lots of heart." - Heather Darwent

"You've never read a country house whodunit quite like Grave Expectations. Nor is there a generation gap quite as wide as the one between Claire and Sophie. Fast, funny and furious, this book has bags of humour, bags of heart and a proper murder mystery at its core. Alice Bell writes with real verve and crafts a preposterous premise into a sharp, well written and lively story that's at once out of this world and yet reassuringly real. As reader, you're along for the ride, and it's a runaway ghost train of a ride at that! Bell is one to watch." - Janice Hallett

"Knives Out vibes with added ghosts. Fresh, funny and hugely enjoyable." - Catherine Ryan Howard

"A clever and playful contemporary cosy mystery by Cobh-based debut author, the talented Alice Bell. Think Ghosts meets Knives Out." - Catherine Kirwan

"A delicious mashup of grisly murder, country house and semi-helpful ghosts - imagine a really cockeyed game of Cluedo heavily seasoned with whimsy ... it's a lot of fun." - Stuart MacBride

"Funny, fast, sharp, original, and addictive ... a unique breath of fresh air. Brilliant!" - Andrea Mara

"Clever, unpredictable and a genuinely humorous modern day country house murder mystery which left me guessing. Perfect for anyone who fancies themselves as a detective." - Nadine Matheson

"Witty, addictive, and breathes some much needed (undead) life into the cosy crime murder mystery genre." - Adam Simcox

"A great read, with great characters, lots of humour, some misty-eyed moments and lots of swearing. Utterly delightful - like the BBC show Ghosts mixed with Cluedo." - Simon Toyne

"This book positively lit up my weekends with its cosy, affectionate, funny, awkward brand of ghostly crime-solving. Perfect for fans of BBC's Ghosts, Alice Bell has a keen eye for characterisation and the ridiculous, creating a story that will both send chills down your spine and wrap you up in a hug." - Ally Wilkes


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Alice Bell's Grave Expectations


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors