Janice Hallett's picture
116 followers

Janice Hallett



A former magazine editor and award-winning journalist,  Janice Hallett has written speeches and articles for, among others, the Cabinet Office, Home Office and Department for International Development. 

In screenwriting, Janice's first feature film RETREAT was released by Sony Pictures (co-written and directed by Carl Tibbetts) which starred Cillian Murphy, Thandie Newton and Jamie Bell. Janice’s stage plays have been performed at Theatre503, The White Bear, Hen & Chickens and TheatreN16. She was also one of six female playwrights selected by All The Rage Theatre for its Seize The Stage festival at Rich Mix. Her play NETHERBARD has twice been performed by Budding Rose Productions. Janice has had television scripts in development with Slim Film & TV and with Retort (part of FreemantleMedia). Her sitcom TWO LADIES was  performed at the Museum of Comedy in June 2019.​Janice was selected for the Triforce Creative Network year-long mentoring scheme and featured on the BBC New Talent Hotlist. She won Best New Screenplay in the 2014 British Independent Film Festival.

 

Genres: Mystery
 
Janice Hallett recommends
thumb
The Plague Letters (2021)
V L Valentine
"A funny, fascinating and gripping adventure tale. It's as if V.L. Valentine holds up a magic mirror to reflect a lesson in time for us now."
thumb
The Rule (2021)
David Jackson
"A stomach-lurching descent into parental desperation, full of surprises from start to finish. A gasp-out-loud read after which I dare you to break The Rule..."
thumb
Five Minds (2021)
Guy Morpuss
"The ultimate whodunit conundrum, this amazing concept blew my mind from the start. A thrilling, intelligent read."
thumb
Black Drop (2021)
(Laurence Jago, book 1)
Leonora Nattrass
"This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp through the tangled roots of British democracy."
thumb
The Anomaly (2021)
Hervé Le Tellier
"Wow, what an exciting, original blend of theory and heart. It's astonishing. I can't describe it, except to say: read it, and prepare for a whole new perspective on your own existence - and plane travel."
thumb
The Christie Affair (2022)
Nina de Gramont
"Nina De Gramont's beautifully written imaginative history of Agatha Christie's disappearance plays out alongside a parallel murder mystery that could have flowed straight from the pen of the great AC herself. An inspired tapestry of fact and fiction places the story perfectly in its historical context. The result is a novel that literally out-Christies Agatha. An exciting, moving and delightful read."
thumb
Her Perfect Twin (2022)
Sarah Bonner
"A terrifyingly vivid psychological thriller - paranoid, claustrophobic and captivating."
thumb
Nasty Little Cuts (2022)
Tina Baker
"A brilliantly written psychological thriller, its twists and turns executed with devastating precision. Everyone *needs* to read this."
thumb
The Trust (2022)
(Astrid Swift, book 1)
M H Eccleston
"I romped through The Trust... A cosy debut set in a house brimming with secrets... An enchanting murder mystery."
thumb
The Game (2022)
Scott Kershaw
"I was absolutely riveted to this gritty, uncompromising thriller. It will drag you into its dark and fiendish plot. Perfect for fans of Squid Game, Cluedo it ain't."
thumb
A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting (2022)
Sophie Irwin
"A thoroughly modern heroine with wit, style and energy - a formidable Austentacious talent."
thumb
All I Said Was True (2022)
Imran Mahmood
"A twisting path to the moment of murder via a police interview where the truth meets its match. A relentless, absorbing thriller of the darkest paranoid noir."
thumb
That Bonesetter Woman (2022)
Frances Quinn
"What a heroine Endurance Proudfoot is! I loved her from the start. An unconventional woman who takes us on a fascinating - if bumpy - ride through a man's world. I laughed, cried and most of all cheered! Can't stop thinking about it... an absolute cruncher of a tale."
thumb
The Three Dahlias (2022)
(Dahlia Lively, book 1)
Katy Watson
"An absolute treat of a read with all the ingredients of a vintage murder mystery: a country house, mysterious dead bodies and three actresses all keen to catch the killer. Perfect weekend reading!"
thumb
Truly, Darkly, Deeply (2022)
Victoria Selman
"Wow! Truly Darkly Deeply is a beautifully written serial killer thriller with a creeping escalation of stone cold dread. Its roots in true crime, the story is so vivid and relatable I can't be certain I wasn't there. Brilliantly executed."
thumb
The Pre-Loved Club (2022)
Sue Teddern
"It's like a big hug in a book."

Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors