book cover of The Lake Palace
Added by 9 of our members
 

The Lake Palace

(2021)
(A book in the Oriental Lake Collection series)
A novel by

 
 
From Ann Bennett, bestselling author of The Orphan House, comes The Lake Palace, an enchanting historical novel set in British India during the Burma Campaign in WWII.

Perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Victoria Hislop and The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas.

India,1944: Iris Walker, daughter of the British Political Agent in the princely state of Ranipur, is a volunteer nurse, caring for soldiers wounded fighting the Japanese on the border with Burma. One evening the maharajah invites Iris and her parents to a dinner at the Lake Palace, where she meets the enigmatic Edward Stark, a friend of the prince. Edward is dashing, kind and considerate, and the attraction is instantly mutual.

But Edward is en route to a special mission in the Naga Hills, meaning they have only days together before Iris is once again left alone. To distract herself from longing for Edward, Iris volunteers to work in a mobile hospital unit travelling behind the front line of the 14th Army where she sees the horrors of war first hand and realises how precious and precarious life can be.

In 1985, Iris, newly widowed, returns to India on holiday. A visit to the now neglected Lake Palace, brings back bitter memories from the 1940s that Iris cannot now let rest. She embarks on a journey into the Naga Hills to uncover long-buried truths from the war years.

The Lake Palace is the follow-up to The Lake Pavilion, although it can be read as a standalone book.

Praise for Ann Bennett

“Brilliant: I loved this book and believed in the characters immediately…Didn't want it to finish and several hours after reading the last line, it’s still going round in my head. Great book!” Five Stars Amazon reviewer

“I raced through this book in just over twenty-four hours. I literally could not put it down…’ Bibilobeth Goodreads

“Unputdownable: This was an engrossing read. I love how Ann Bennett crafts a story. Highly recommended.” Five Stars. Amazon reviewer.

“Fabulous!!!!!! One of the very best books I've read! Really keeps your interests piqued… Absolutely loved, loved, this story!” Five Stars. Goodreads reviewer






Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ann Bennett's The Lake Palace

Paperback Editions

November 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lake Palace
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Palace
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon   


March 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Palace
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Palace
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Palace
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Palace: An enchanting historical novel set in British India during the Burma Campaign in WWII (The Oriental Lake Collection)
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU