book cover of The Lake Pavilion
Added by 19 of our members
 

The Lake Pavilion

(2021)
(A book in the Oriental Lake Collection series)
A novel by

 
 
From Ann Bennett, bestselling author of The Orphan House, comes The Lake Pavilion, a sweeping historical novel; the story of two women connected by devastating secrets from wartime England and British India of the 1930s.

Perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Victoria Hislop and The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas.

India 1935: Amelia Collins, a missionary’s daughter, left destitute by the death of her parents, leaves their home in the Himalayan foothills to find work in Darjeeling. There she meets District Officer Reginald Holden, a powerful older man, who spirits her away from poverty and prejudice to start a new life as his wife in Ganpur.

Amelia soon forms a bond with Reginald’s young son, Arthur, and resumes missionary work in the villages around Ganpur. There, she discovers a pavilion on a lake where the wives of maharajahs once bathed, now abandoned and cloaked in mystery.

When the Indian independence movement flares in Ganpur and Reginald struggles to contain it, Amelia's world begins to fall apart as she uncovers the shattering truths he has been keeping from her.

Decades later, when Kate Hamilton inherits a rambling country house from her great aunt Amelia, she returns to the village in Buckinghamshire that she left as a teenager in 1944. Sorting through long-hidden papers, she begins to unearth Amelia’s secrets from her years in British India.

But Kate is harbouring a secret of her own – a devastating betrayal from that last summer of the war. She has lived in the shadow of that day ever since, but Kate is convinced that unlocking the truth about Amelia’s Indian past will hold the key to her own future…

Praise for Ann Bennett

Brilliant: I loved this book and believed in the characters immediately…Didn't want it to finish and several hours after reading the last line, it’s still going round in my head. Great book!” Five Stars Amazon reviewer

“I raced through this book in just over twenty-four hours. I literally could not put it down…’ Bibilobeth Goodreads

Unputdownable: This was an engrossing read. I love how Ann Bennett crafts a story. Highly recommended.” Five Stars. Amazon reviewer.

“Fabulous!!!!!! One of the very best books I've read! Really keeps your interests piqued… Absolutely loved, loved, this story!” Five Stars. Goodreads reviewer



Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ann Bennett's The Lake Pavilion

Hardback Editions

October 2021 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion (The Oriental Lake Collection)
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon   


October 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Pavilion : A sweeping historical novel set in British India of the 1930s and wartime England. (The Oriental Lake Collection)
Author(s): Ann Bennett
Publisher: Andaman Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU