New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Dressmaker\'s Secret

The Dressmaker's Secret

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
A sumptuously romantic story bursting with historical colour and flavour, perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory, Georgette Heyer and Joanne Harris.

'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fford on The Apothecary's Daughter

*****

Italy, 1819. Emilia Barton and her mother Sarah live a nomadic existence, travelling from town to town as itinerant dressmakers to escape their past. When they settle in the idyllic coastal town of Pesaro, Emilia desperately hopes that, this time, they have found a permanent home. But when Sarah is brutally attacked by an unknown assailant, a deathbed confession turns Emilia's world upside down.

Seeking refuge as a dressmaker in the eccentric household of Princess Caroline of Brunswick, Emilia experiences her first taste of love with the charming Alessandro. But her troubling history gnaws away at her. Might she, a humble dressmaker's daughter, have a more aristocratic past than she could have imagined? When the Princess sends her on an assignment to London, she grasps the opportunity to unravel the truth.

Caught up in a web of treachery and deceit, Emilia is determined to discover who she really is - even if she risks losing everything . . .

*****

Reader reviews:

'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer
'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer
'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Genre: Historical Romance    

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Charlotte Betts's The Dressmaker's Secret

Paperback Editions

November 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's Secret: A gorgeously evocative historical romance
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
ISBN: 0-349-41416-5 / 978-0-349-41416-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's Secret: A gorgeously evocative historical romance
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
ISBN: 0-349-41414-9 / 978-0-349-41414-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's Secret
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's Secret
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's Secret
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dressmaker's Secret: A gorgeously evocative historical romance
Author(s): Charlotte Betts
Publisher: Piatkus
Availability: Amazon UK