D F Bailey's picture

D F Bailey

An Amazon bestselling author, D.F. Bailey is a W.H. Smith First Novel Award and a Whistler Independent Book Award finalist.

In 2015 D.F. Bailey published The Finch Trilogy -- Bone Maker, Stone Eater, and Lone Hunter -- three novels narrated from the point-of-view of a crime reporter in San Francisco. Second Life (2017) and Open Chains (2019) continue the series with stand-alone books based on the characters established in the trilogy. The series prequel, Five Knives, came out in 2018.

His first novel, Fire Eyes, was optioned for film. His second novel, Healing the Dead, was translated into German as Todliche Ahnungen. The Good Lie, another psychological thriller, was recorded as an audiobook. A fourth novel, Exit from America, made its debut as an e-book in 2013.

Following his birth in Montreal, D.F. Bailey's family moved around North America from rural Ontario to New York City to McComb, Mississippi to Cape May, New Jersey. He finally "landed on his feet" on Vancouver Island -- where he lives next to the Salish Sea in the city of Victoria.

For twenty-two years D.F. Bailey worked at the University of Victoria where he taught creative writing and journalism and coordinated the Professional Writing Cooperative Education Program -- which he co-founded. From time to time he also freelanced as a business writer and journalist. In the fall of 2010, he left the university so that he could turn "his pre-occupation with writing into a full-blown obsession."
Will Finch Mystery
   0.5. Five Knives (2018)
   1. Bone Maker (2015)
   2. Stone Eater (2015)
   3. Lone Hunter (2015)
   4. Second Life (2017)
   5. Open Chains (2019)
   6. Run Time (2020)