book cover of The Books of the Dead
Added by 1 of our members

The Books of the Dead

(2019)
(The second book in the Death in Paris Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
The second book in Emilia Bernhard's charming Death in Paris series, featuring two American sleuths in the City of Lights, is perfect for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

Parisian summers are for strolls in the park...and solving a murder or two. When American sleuth Rachel Levis stumbles upon an employee of the French national library strangled in the bathroom of a cafe, she's not surprised to be asked to help with the investigation by her old acquaintance Capitaine Boussicault - after all, she and her best friend Magda solved a tricky murder only 18 months before.

But right from the start, this case proves to be tres difficile. When Rachel goes undercover as a librarian to determine which of his book-loving colleagues loathed the man enough to kill him, the library is rocked by more bad news: a priceless antique book has been mutilated. And the very next day, her favourite suspect for the murder is found dead in the stacks.

Just as the case is heating up, Boussicault pulls Rachel from the investigation. Undeterred, she and Magda decide to forge ahead with their own investigation - even if it could put them at odds with the police and in serious danger. With evidence and suspects piling up, it will be up to them to find the culprit - and stop more innocent books from being harmed - before anyone else checks out for good.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Praise for this book

"A fun romp through Paris's chicest districts alongside two delightful amateur sleuths." - M L Longworth


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Hitting the Books
(Library Lover's Mystery, book 9)
Jenn McKinlay
thumb
Murder at the Mansion
(Victorian Village Mystery, book 1)
Sheila Connolly
thumb
Murder Once Removed
(Ancestry Detective, book 1)
S C Perkins

Used availability for Emilia Bernhard's The Books of the Dead

Hardback Editions

October 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Books of the Dead: A Death in Paris Mystery
Author(s): Emilia Bernhard
ISBN: 1-64385-157-8 / 978-1-64385-157-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Books of the Dead
Author(s): Emilia Bernhard
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


October 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Books of the Dead
Author(s): Emilia Bernhard
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Books of the Dead: A Death in Paris Mystery
Author(s): Emilia Bernhard
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA