book cover of The Last Debutantes
Added by 16 members
 

The Last Debutantes

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
Fans of The Kennedy Debutante and Next Year in Havana will love Georgie Blalock’s new novel of a world on the cusp of change...set on the eve of World War II in the glittering world of English society and one of the last debutante seasons. 

They danced the night away, knowing their world was about to change forever. They were the debutantes of 1939, laughing on the outside, but knowing tragedy— and a war—was just around the corner.

When Valerie de Vere Cole, the niece of Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain, makes her deep curtsey to the King and Queen of England, she knows she’s part of a world about to end. The daughter of a debt-ridden father and a neglectful mother, Valerie sees firsthand that war is imminent.

Nevertheless, Valerie reinvents herself as a carefree and glittering young society woman, befriending other debutantes from England’s aristocracy as well as the vivacious Eunice Kennedy, daughter of the U.S. Ambassador. Despite her social success, the world’s troubles and Valerie’s fear of loss and loneliness prove impossible to ignore.

How will she navigate her new life when everything in her past has taught her that happiness and stability are as fragile as peace in our time? For the moment she will forget her cares in too much champagne and waltzes. Because very soon, Valerie knows that she must find the inner strength to stand strong and carry on through the challenges of life and love and war.




Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A fascinating portrayal of Princess Margaret and the many scandals that surround her...Full of glamour, intrigue, and with delicious glimpses of the wider royal family, The Other Windsor Girl is a delight. Perfect for fans of The Crown." - Hazel Gaynor

"As the world teeters on the precipice of war, a glittering group of debutantes try to hold onto life as they know it, even as they know everything is about to change. A perfect Downton Abbey-esque story to get swept away in!" - Stephanie Marie Thornton

"Storm clouds hover over high society on the brink of war, tarnishing the glamour of The Season in this wonderfully told story of love, war, and friendship." - Bryn Turnbull

"A fascinating portrayal of London high society overshadowed by the threat of World War II, Georgie Blalock’s The Last Debutantes follows Valerie de Vere Cole, niece of Neville Chamberlain, as she navigates the perilous waters of the London season...Atmospheric, moving and compelling, The Last Debutantes is a must read!" - Christine Wells


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Georgie Blalock's The Last Debutantes


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors