book cover of The Noose\'s Shadow
Added by 12 members

The Noose's Shadow

(The fourth book in the Master Mercurius Mystery series)
A novel by

It’s another complicated mystery for Master Mercurius to solve! Perfect for fans of Andrew Taylor, C J Sansom, S J Parris and Ken Follett.

A man who nobody liked has been murdered … but who had a motive to kill?

1680, Leiden, The Netherlands

After a successful trip to England to secure the Princess Mary’s hand in marriage to William of Orange, Master Mercurius is back at the University of Leiden.

And once more, he finds himself embroiled in a local mystery.

A farmer named Wolf was stabbed to death outside his home, and his neighbour Jaco has been arrested for the murder.

But Jaco’s wife Sara is convinced her husband is innocent, and Mercurius believes her.

As Mercurius gathers the facts, it soon becomes clear that Wolf was a deeply unpopular man. But is that enough of a motive for murder?

With the shadow of the noose looming over Jaco, Mercurius is running out of time to catch the killer and stop an innocent man from hanging in his stead.

The Noose’s Shadow is the fourth historical murder investigation in the Master Mercurius Mystery series: atmospheric crime thrillers set in seventeenth-century Europe.

BOOK ONE: Death in Delft
BOOK TWO: Untrue Till Death
BOOK THREE: Dishonour and Obey
BOOK FOUR: The Noose’s Shadow
BOOK FIVE: The Vanishing Children

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Graham Brack's The Noose's Shadow

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors