book cover of The New Me
Added by 1 of our members

The New Me

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
'Terrific. So funny' Zadie Smith

'Monstrously depressing but so comic and well observed that I didn't really mind .... It is great' Dolly Alderton

'A dark comedy of female rage' Catherine Lacey

'Brilliant. For fans of Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and Relaxation'Pandora Sykes

'Funny, shocking, clever, and hugely entertaining' Roddy Doyle

'A definitive work of milennial literature' Jia Tolentino

'The best thing I've read in years' Emma Jane Unsworth

'Vicious ... hilariously spot on' Guardian

In a windowless office, a woman explains something from her real, nonwork life - about the frustration and indignity of returning her online shopping - to her colleagues. One wears a topknot. Another checks her pedometer.

Watching them all is Millie. Thirty-years-old and an eternal temp, she says almost nothing, almost all of the time.

But then the possibility of a permanent job arises. Will it bring the new life Millie is envisioning - one involving a gym membership, a book club, and a lot less beer and TV - finally within reach? Or will it reveal just how hollow that vision has become?

'Made me laugh and cry enough times to feel completely reborn' The Paris Review

'A definite work of millennial literature. Wretchedly riveting, with the sick, obsessive pleasure of looking under a bandage at a wound' The New Yorker

'So darkly funny and acutely observed that it feels like a documentary' Andrew McMillan

'Anyone who has ever felt like their life is going nowhere - and to make it worse, going nowhere in an achingly slow manner - will recognize themselves'Nylon

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Halle Butler has a way of looking at our 21st-century neoliberalist condition that simultaneously exposes its brutality and renders that same brutality absurd, hilarious, fizzy with humor. She's an incisive, curmudgeonly bard of the uniquely precarious times we live in, and it is crucial that you read her immediately." - Alexandra Kleeman

"Halle Butler is a first-rate satirist of the horror show being sold to us as Modern Femininity. She is Thomas Bernhard in a bad mood, wearing ill-fitting tights, scrutinizing old take-out leftovers. THE NEW ME shows us the futility of betterment in an increasingly paranoid era of self-improvement, one in which the female body is grated into little bloody empowered bits of itself. A dark comedy of female rage. Fucking hilarious." - Catherine Lacey

"THE NEW ME renders contemporary American life in such vivid, stinging color, that certain sentences are liable to give the reader a paper cut. But you'll want to keep on reading anyway. Halle Butler is terrific, and I loved this book." - Kelly Link

"A bleak and brutal book that exposes a nearly unbearable futility to life in the workforce, not to mention life outside of it. Butler's vision is funny and raw and dark-a cautionary tale, hilarious and intimate, against growing up and making do." - Ben Marcus

"A bouncy, profane, highly addictive novel about work, female friendship, and other alienations. Halle Butler's insane talent shimmers on every page of this deadpan misanthrope's ode. A must-read!" - Claire Vaye Watkins


Used availability for Halle Butler's The New Me

Paperback Editions

March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
ISBN: 1-4746-1229-6 / 978-1-4746-1229-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
ISBN: 0-14-313360-8 / 978-0-14-313360-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The New Me
Author(s): Halle Butler
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU