book cover of The Fifth to Die
Added by 12 of our members

The Fifth to Die

(2018)
(The second book in the 4MK series)
A novel by

 
 
Murder. It's a family affair.

In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake.

She's been missing for three weeks...the lake froze over three months ago.

Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate, but it's not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer Anson Bishop has struck again, but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different. There's a new killer on the loose.

Porter, however, is distracted. He's still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: 'Help me find my mother. I think it's time she and I talked.'

As more girls go missing and Porter's team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop's mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came.

Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo, this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he's been trained from birth?

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Hangman's Hold
(DCI Matilda Darke, book 4)
Michael Wood
thumb
The Taken Girls
(Detective Edina Ogborne, book 1)
G D Sanders

Used availability for J D Barker's The Fifth to Die

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die (A 4MK Thriller)
Author(s): J D Barker
ISBN: 0-544-97397-6 / 978-0-544-97397-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die (A 4MK Thriller)
Author(s): J D Barker
ISBN: 1-328-58981-1 / 978-1-328-58981-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die (A Detective Porter novel)
Author(s): J D Barker
ISBN: 0-00-825038-3 / 978-0-00-825038-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die (A Detective Porter novel)
Author(s): J D Barker
ISBN: 0-00-832211-2 / 978-0-00-832211-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   


1900 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die (A Detective Porter novel)
Author(s): J D Barker
ISBN: 0-00-825039-1 / 978-0-00-825039-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die: A Detective Porter Novel
Author(s): J D Barker
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die: A Detective Porter Novel
Author(s): J D Barker
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die
Author(s): J D Barker
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die
Author(s): J D Barker
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die (A 4MK Thriller Book 2)
Author(s): J D Barker
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Fifth to Die: A gripping, page-turner of a crime thriller (A Detective Porter novel)
Author(s): J D Barker
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU