book cover of Dead Man\'s Prayer
Added by 12 of our members

Dead Man's Prayer

(2016)
(The first book in the DI Frank Farrell series)
A novel by

 
 

‘Gripping … a compelling and authentic page-turner’ Sunday Mail

‘A must read!’ Reader review

‘A sparkling debut!’ Reader review

The first in an exciting new Scottish crime thriller series. Perfect for fans of L J Ross, Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell has returned to his roots in Dumfries, only to be landed with a disturbing murder case. Even worse, Farrell knows the victim: Father Boyd, the man who forced him out of the priesthood eighteen years earlier.

With no leads, Farrell must delve into the old priest’s past, one that is inexorably linked with his own. But his attention is diverted when a pair of twin boys go missing. The Dumfries police force recover one in an abandoned church, unharmed. But where is his brother?

As Farrell investigates the two cases, he can’t help but feel targeted. Is someone playing a sinister game, or is he seeing patterns that don’t exist? Either way, it’s a game Farrell needs to win before he loses his grip on his sanity, or someone else turns up dead.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"British crime fiction has a rising star. DI Frank Farrell is flawed, layered and utterly compelling. The plot is intriguing, the supporting characters well-rounded, and the psychology of Catholicism is subtle and effective. A great read." - M W Craven

"Stark and lean, yet deeply layered writing marks Jackie Baldwin out as a rising star on the British crime fiction scene. Dead Man’s Prayer is a compelling, thrilling read, and DI Frank Farrell a character I look forward to meeting again." - Matt Hilton

"In her striking debut novel, Jackie Baldwin demonstrates an ease with police procedure, an ear for character and an eye for a strong storytelling. Really looking forward to seeing where she goes next." - Michael Malone

"A thrilling, pacy police procedural with a very humane heart beating at its core." - Caro Ramsay


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Born in a Burial Gown
(DI Avison Fluke, book 1)
M W Craven
thumb
One Lost Soul
(Tom Janssen, book 1)
J M Dalgliesh
thumb
Only The Innocent
(DI Tom Douglas, book 1)
Rachel Abbott
thumb
The Merchant's House
(Wesley Peterson, book 1)
Kate Ellis

Used availability for Jackie Baldwin's Dead Man's Prayer

Paperback Editions

December 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead Man's Prayer: A gripping detective thriller with a killer twist (DI Frank Farrell, Book 1)
Author(s): Jackie Baldwin
ISBN: 0-00-820096-3 / 978-0-00-820096-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Killer Reads
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dead Man's Prayer: A gripping detective thriller with a killer twist (DI Frank Farrell, Book 1)
Author(s): Jackie Baldwin
Publisher: One More Chapter
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU