New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Everything is Nice

Everything is Nice

A collection of stories by

Definitive edition of stories, with a biographical note and photos THIS NEW COLLECTION gathers together all of Jane Bowles's fictional work (except her novel, Two Serious Ladies). It includes all of her stories, her plays, the excised sections of Two Serious Ladies (which was originally Three Serious Ladies), fragments of two unfinished novels (Out in the World and Going to Massachussets), and other stories edited from her notebooks by Jane's husband, Paul Bowles, and her biographer, Millicent Dillon. From the title story, Everything is Nice, where an American woman is led to a house in a 'blue moslem town' by a veiled woman with porcupines in her basket, to Camp Cataract, a Colorado-based tour de force of middle-class claustrophobia and dread, these stories takes you into Jane Bowles's edgy and exhilarating, tragicomic world. And her play, In the Summer House, included here in full, is a revelation: 'the most original, the oddest and funniest play - and one of the most touching', as Tennessee Willliams maintained. This edition of Jane Bowles's work also features six letters and a chronology of her life and work.


Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Jane Bowles's Everything is Nice

Paperback Editions

December 2012 : UK Paperback

Title: Everything is Nice: Collected Stories, Fragments and Plays
Author(s): Jane Bowles
ISBN: 1-908745-15-0 / 978-1-908745-15-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sort of Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 1989 : UK Paperback

Title: Everything Is Nice:Coll Stories (VMC)
Author(s): Jane Bowles
ISBN: 1-85381-052-5 / 978-1-85381-052-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Virago
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

December 2012 : UK Kindle edition

Title: Everything is Nice: Jane Bowles: Collected Stories, Sketches and Plays
Author(s): Jane Bowles
Publisher: Sort Of
Availability: Amazon UK