book cover of Wrong Turnings

Wrong Turnings

(The fourth book in the DI Lesley Gunn series)
A novel by

A TV entrepreneur, a criminal husband, a vicious ex-wife - and one hard-to-catch killer...

When Detective Inspector Lesley Gunn married Sir Nicholas Torrance, she might have expected this to be the end of her career as a sleuth. But returning from their honeymoon, they find themselves involved with the flamboyant Chet Brunner.

The brash film and TV entrepreneur Brunner has surrounded himself with enemies, along with an ex-wife lurking in a nearby cottage with her criminal second husband. Added to that, Brunner's current wife and latest mistress are battling both over him and with him. And a young widow has some startling things to learn about her dead husband and the bumptious Brunner.

Then a killer strikes, and Lesley cannot help offering her own theories . . .

John Burke was born in Rye, Sussex in 1922. He served in the Royal Air Force, Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, and the Royal Marines during the war. After working for the publishers Museum Press and the Books for Pleasure Group, he was a Public Relations and Publications Executive for Shell (1959 - 63) and Story Editor for Twentieth Century-Fox (1963 - 65) before becoming a full-time writer in 1966. Burke won the Atlantic Award in Literature from the Rockefeller Foundation for his first novel, Swift Summer. He then went on to have over 140 books published before his death in 2011, including Death by Marzipan and Stalking Widow.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for John Burke's Wrong Turnings

Paperback Editions

February 2018 : Paperback

Title: Wrong Turnings (DI Lesley Gunn)
Author(s): John Burke
ISBN: 1-980348-54-5 / 978-1-980348-54-2
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

February 2018 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Wrong Turnings (DI Lesley Gunn Book 4)
Author(s): John Burke
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA