book cover of Beneath Cruel Waters

Beneath Cruel Waters

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
A wrenching psychological thriller in the vein of Tana French’s In the Woods, Jon Bassoff’s Beneath Cruel Waters reminds us that the sins of the mothers are the sins of the sons.

Holt Davidson, a Kansas firefighter, hasn’t been back to his hometown of Thompsonville, Colorado, for more than two decades, but when he learns that his estranged mother has taken her own life, he returns for the funeral, hoping to make peace with her memory. He spends the night at his childhood home, rummaging through each room, exploring the past. But instead of nostalgic souvenirs, he discovers a gun, a love letter, and a Polaroid photograph of a man lying in his own blood.

Who is the dead man? Was his mother the one who killed him, and, if so, why? Who sent the love letter? And what role did his sister, institutionalized since she was a teenager, play in this act of violence? As his own traumatic memories begin to resurface, Holt begins an investigation into his mother’s and sister’s pasts—as well as his own.



Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Hardback Editions

May 2022 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
ISBN: 1-79993-888-3 / 978-1-79993-888-0
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2022 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


May 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beneath Cruel Waters
Author(s): Jon Bassoff
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU