book cover of The Assassins of Thasalon
Added by 70 members

The Assassins of Thasalon

(The tenth book in the World of the Five Gods : Penric & Desdemona series)
A novel by

An unholy attack upon his brother-in-law General Arisaydia pitches sorcerer Learned Penric and his Temple demon Desdemona headlong into the snake-pit of Cedonian imperial politics. But they will not travel alone. The mission from his god brings Penric some of his strangest new allies yet, and the return of some of his most valued old ones.

This novel-length story takes place two years after the events of “The Physicians of Vilnoc”.

The internal chronological order of the Penric & Desdemona tales is presently:

“Penric’s Demon”
“Penric and the Shaman”
“Penric’s Fox”
“Masquerade in Lodi”
“Penric’s Mission”
“Mira’s Last Dance”
“The Prisoner of Limnos”
“The Orphans of Raspay”
“The Physicians of Vilnoc”
The Assassins of Thasalon

“Demon”, “Shaman”, and “Fox” are collected in the paper volume Penric’s Progress, and “Mission”, “Mira” and “Limnos” are collected in the paper volume Penric’s Travels.

“Bujold is not just a master of plot, she is a master of emotion.”
- SF Site

Bujold's "work remains among the most enjoyable and rewarding in contemporary fiction.”
- Publishers Weekly

“Bujold couldn't characterize badly if threatened with a firing squad.”
- Booklist

“A superb craftsman and stylist, Ms. Bujold is well on her way to becoming one of the great voices of speculative fiction.”
- Rave Reviews

"Boy, can she write!"
- Anne McCaffrey

“Bujold has a gift.”
- Chicago Sun Times

Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Lois McMaster Bujold's The Assassins of Thasalon

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors