book cover of Cake and Punishment
Added by 16 of our members

Cake and Punishment

(2018)
(The first book in the Southern Cake Baker Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
In the first of a delectable new Southern-set baking cozy series, Sophia Cummings, pastry chef extraordinaire, must craft the perfect cake for an old friend’s wedding while sifting through the suspects in a murder.

Bucolic Rumford, Kentucky has glowing fields of bluegrass, a fine selection of bourbons, and now a professional pastry chef. Broken-hearted Sophia Cummings has come home from New York City. She’s not there a minute before she’s charmed into making her high school friend Charlotte’s wedding cake. The kitchen at the Rumford Country Club seems perfect until Chef Emile’s body is discovered, sprawled near the stove, a cast iron skillet on the floor close by.

With one look at the shiny, new frying pan, Sophia knows it’s not Emile’s. She offers her knowledge to Sheriff Carter and her talents to Evelyn, the manager, who needs an interim chef. The mood in the country club is grim: Emile’s peppery personality had burned members and staff alike. Sophia wonders which one of them burned him?

Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and JoAnna Carl, Cake and Punishment—with authentic Southern recipes!—will satisfy your sweet tooth.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Praise for this book

"Cake and Punishment is baked to order. From murder to love to apple pie, it is a ridiculously satisfying read. Get ready for your tastebuds to be tickled!" - Melissa Bourbon

"Delicious goodies, a small Southern town, quirky characters - even a cat - what else could a mystery fan ask? Recipes, of course. Yum, yum. Maymee Bell’s book is delightful. Or maybe delicious." - JoAnna Carl

"A mouthwatering, Southern delight of a mystery!" - Liz Mugavero

"A sweet treat for a cozy mystery. Maymee Bell brings small town Kentucky to life. Great read to curl up on your front porch with?add a glass of sweet tea and you are enjoying a taste of southern living." - Nancy J Parra


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Death of a Kitchen Diva
(Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails Mystery, book 1)
Lee Hollis
thumb
One Taste Too Many
(Sarah Blair Mystery, book 1)
Debra H Goldstein
thumb
Handbook for Homicide
(Booktown Mystery, book 14)
Lorna Barrett
thumb
Premeditated Mortar
(Fixer-Upper Mystery, book 8)
Kate Carlisle

Used availability for Maymee Bell's Cake and Punishment

Hardback Editions

May 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery
Author(s): Maymee Bell
ISBN: 1-68331-571-5 / 978-1-68331-571-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery
Author(s): Maymee Bell
ISBN: 1-68331-796-3 / 978-1-68331-796-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: Southern Cake Baker Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Maymee Bell
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: Southern Cake Baker Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Maymee Bell
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: Southern Cake Baker Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Maymee Bell
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: Southern Cake Baker Mystery, Book 1
Author(s): Maymee Bell
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Cake and Punishment: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery
Author(s): Maymee Bell
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU