book cover of Summerchill
Added by 14 of our members

Summerchill

(2015)
(The sixth book in the Gunnhildur Mystery series)
A Novella by

 
 
A novella featuring Detective Gunnhildur of Quentin Bates's Icelandic crime series. An atmospheric and chilling thriller perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup's The Chestnut Man.

It's the tail end of a hot summer when half of Reykjavík is on holiday and the other half wishes it was. Things are quiet when a man is reported missing from his home in the suburbs.

As Gunna and Helgi investigate, it becomes clear that the missing man had secrets of his own that lead to a sinister set of friends, and to someone with little to lose who is a fugitive from both justice and the underworld.

It becomes a challenge for Gunna to tail both the victim and his would-be executioner, racing to catch up with at least one of them before they finally meet.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

'As chilling as an Icelandic winter' S. J. Bolton

'Superior crime fiction set in Iceland' The Times

'A great read - leaves you craving the next installment' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

'A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire' The Bookbag

'Well written and absorbing' Woman's Way

'Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason's Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists' Booklist

'[A] crackling fiction debut ... palpable authenticity' Publishers Weekly

'A superb new series'Eurocrime

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Quentin Bates's Summerchill

Kindle Editions

May 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Summerchill
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Summerchill (Gunnhildur Mystery Book 6)
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU