book cover of In Bitter Chill
Added by 23 of our members

In Bitter Chill

(2015)
(The first book in the DC Childs Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
The deepest secrets are the ones we keep from ourselves in this richly atmospheric, compellingly written, and expertly constructed crime debut from an emerging talent.

Derbyshire, 1978: a small town in the idyllic English countryside is traumatized by the kidnapping of two young schoolgirls, Rachel Jones and Sophie Jenkins. Within hours, Rachel is found wandering alone near the roadside, unharmed yet unable to remember anything, except that her abductor was a woman. No trace of Sophie is ever discovered.

Present day: over thirty years later, Sophie's mother commits suicide. Detective inspector Francis Sadler and detective constable Connie Childs are assigned to look at the kidnapping again to see if modern police methods can discover something that the original team missed. Rachel, with the help of her formidable mother and grandmother, recovered from the kidnapping and has become a family genealogist. She wants nothing more than to continue living quietly beneath the radar, but the discovery of the strangled body of one of her former teachers days after the suicide brings the national media back to her doorstep. Desperate to stop a modern killer from striking again, Rachel and the police must unpick the clues to uncover what really happened all those years ago as the past threatens to engulf the present.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"In Bitter Chill is an elegant and thoughtful novel, as well as a compassionate investigation into the dark heart of family relationships and the lurking power of long buried secrets. This is a fine debut, and Sarah Ward is a writer to watch." - Chris Ewan

"Relentless, compelling, and meticulously suspenseful. Fans of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George will rejoice at this atmospheric and authentic debut, expertly told, where modern-day police struggle to untangle disturbing secrets of the past. Terrific." - Hank Phillippi Ryan

"In Bitter Chill deserves to be one of the stand out debuts of 2015. A tense, page-turning mystery that grips readers from the first. I'm looking forward to more from Sarah Ward." - William Ryan

"The most engaging debut I have come across in a long time." - Yrsa Sigurðardóttir


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Icelight
(Peter Cotton, book 3)
Aly Monroe
thumb
The Burning
(Maeve Kerrigan, book 1)
Jane Casey
thumb
Meet Me in Malmo
(Anita Sundstrom mystery, book 1)
Torquil MacLeod

Used availability for Sarah Ward's In Bitter Chill

Hardback Editions

February 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic)
Author(s): Sarah Ward
ISBN: 1-4104-8667-2 / 978-1-4104-8667-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill: A Mystery (Inspector Francis Sadler)
Author(s): Sarah Ward
ISBN: 1-250-06917-3 / 978-1-250-06917-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill
Author(s): Sarah Ward
ISBN: 0-571-32098-8 / 978-0-571-32098-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill (Inspector Francis Sadler) (DC Childs mystery)
Author(s): Sarah Ward
ISBN: 0-571-32100-3 / 978-0-571-32100-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2015 : UK Paperback

Title: In Bitter Chill
Author(s): Sarah Ward
ISBN: 0-571-32099-6 / 978-0-571-32099-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

March 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill
Author(s): Sarah Ward
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill
Author(s): Sarah Ward
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill
Author(s): Sarah Ward
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill: A Mystery (Inspector Francis Sadler Book 1)
Author(s): Sarah Ward
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: In Bitter Chill (DC Childs mystery)
Author(s): Sarah Ward
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU