book cover of Thin Ice
Added by 16 of our members

Thin Ice

(2016)
(The fifth book in the Gunnhildur Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
'Superior crime fiction set in Iceland' The Times

'As chilling as an Icelandic winter' S. J. Bolton


Snowed in with a couple of psychopaths for the winter . . .

When two small-time crooks rob Reykjavik's premier drugs dealer, hoping for a quick escape to the sun, their plans start to unravel after their getaway driver fails to show. Tensions mount between the pair and the two women they have grabbed as hostages when they find themselves holed upcountry in an isolated hotel.

Back in the capital, Gunnhildur, Eiríkur and Helgi find themselves at a dead end investigating what appear to be the unrelated disappearance of a mother, her daughter and their car during a day's shopping, and the death of a thief in a house fire.

Gunna and her team are faced with a set of riddles but as more people are quizzed it begins to emerge that all these unrelated incidents are in fact linked. And at the same time, two increasingly desperate lowlifes have no choice but to make some big decisions on how to get rid of their accidental hostages...

The fifth gripping and atmospheric thriller in Quentin Bates's Icelandic crime series. A dark page-turner perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup's The Chestnut Man.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

'A great read - leaves you craving the next installment' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

'A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire' The Bookbag

'Well written and absorbing' Woman's Way

'Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason's Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists' Booklist

'[A] crackling fiction debut ... palpable authenticity' Publishers Weekly

'A superb new series'Eurocrime

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"As chilling as an Icelandic winter." - Sharon Bolton


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Quentin Bates's Thin Ice

Hardback Editions

May 2018 : UK Hardback

Title: Thin Ice
Author(s): Quentin Bates
ISBN: 1-78541-521-2 / 978-1-78541-521-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback

Title: Thin Ice
Author(s): Quentin Bates
ISBN: 1-78541-527-1 / 978-1-78541-527-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: A chilling and atmospheric crime thriller full of twists (Gunnhildur Mystery)
Author(s): Quentin Bates
ISBN: 1-4721-2149-X / 978-1-4721-2149-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Thin Ice
Author(s): Quentin Bates
ISBN: 1-978618-43-3 / 978-1-978618-43-5
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Thin Ice (Officer Gunnhildur)
Author(s): Quentin Bates
ISBN: 1-5436-2503-7 / 978-1-5436-2503-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: Officer Gunnhildur, Book 5
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: Officer Gunnhildur, Book 5
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: Officer Gunnhildur, Book 5
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: Officer Gunnhildur, Book 5
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: A chilling and atmospheric crime thriller full of twists (Gunnhildur Mystery Book 5)
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thin Ice: A chilling and atmospheric crime thriller full of twists (Gunnhildur Mystery)
Author(s): Quentin Bates
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA