book cover of The Night Visitor
Added by 14 of our members

The Night Visitor

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
'One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read' C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear



She knows your secret . . . and she'll make you pay

As high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .

Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.

PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:

'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie
'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian
'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child
'PROPULSIVE' - Metro
'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me
'SINISTER' - Red
'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear
'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror
'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie
'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review
'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street
'ENTHRALLING' - Heat
'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed
'INTELLIGENT'- Good Housekeeping

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant." - Fiona Barton

"Creepy, tense and unnerving." - Sharon Bolton

"Elegant, clever, beautifully written . . . Lucy Atkins is, quite frankly, a genius." - Joanna Cannon

"Clever, multilayered and morally murky." - Tammy Cohen

"Wonderfully creepy, in that clever way that is tied in with character as much as plot and setting." - Sabine Durrant

"Wonderfully dark and intriguing . . . Highly recommended." - Linda Green

"Thrillingly creepy and darkly funny . . . brilliant plotting and characters that crackle off the page. A ‘cannot tear yourself away’ novel." - Kate Hamer

"The tension is immediate and unrelenting; the sense of unease palpable . . . a gripping, Rendellesque read." - Mick Herron

"It put me in mind of Misery and Rebecca. Splendidly tense, creepy and enjoyable." - Sarah Hilary

"The moment I finished I wanted to read it all over again." - Clare Mackintosh

"Vivian Tester is one of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I’ve ever read . . . brilliant." - C L Taylor


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Widow
(Kate Waters, book 1)
Fiona Barton
thumb
Ragdoll
(Ragdoll, book 1)
Daniel Cole

Used availability for Lucy Atkins's The Night Visitor

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-68144-022-9 / 978-1-68144-022-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-78648-204-5 / 978-1-78648-204-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-68144-051-2 / 978-1-68144-051-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-78429-324-5 / 978-1-78429-324-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-78648-218-5 / 978-1-78648-218-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-5100-7068-0 / 978-1-5100-7068-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor: The most gripping thriller of Christmas 2019!
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor: The most gripping thriller of Christmas 2019!
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA