book cover of The Night Visitor
Added by 6 of our members

The Night Visitor

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the best-selling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go and The Ice Twins.

Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new best seller, she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit, and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward 60-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.

As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic south of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.

The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant." - Fiona Barton

"Creepy, tense and unnerving." - Sharon Bolton

"Elegant, clever, beautifully written . . . Lucy Atkins is, quite frankly, a genius." - Joanna Cannon

"Clever, multilayered and morally murky." - Tammy Cohen

"Wonderfully creepy, in that clever way that is tied in with character as much as plot and setting." - Sabine Durrant

"Wonderfully dark and intriguing . . . Highly recommended." - Linda Green

"Thrillingly creepy and darkly funny . . . brilliant plotting and characters that crackle off the page. A ‘cannot tear yourself away’ novel." - Kate Hamer

"The tension is immediate and unrelenting; the sense of unease palpable . . . a gripping, Rendellesque read." - Mick Herron

"It put me in mind of Misery and Rebecca. Splendidly tense, creepy and enjoyable." - Sarah Hilary

"The moment I finished I wanted to read it all over again." - Clare Mackintosh

"Vivian Tester is one of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I’ve ever read . . . brilliant." - C L Taylor


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lucy Atkins's The Night Visitor

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-68144-022-9 / 978-1-68144-022-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-78648-204-5 / 978-1-78648-204-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-68144-051-2 / 978-1-68144-051-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-78429-324-5 / 978-1-78429-324-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-78648-218-5 / 978-1-78648-218-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2017 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
ISBN: 1-5100-7068-0 / 978-1-5100-7068-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Night Visitor: The gripping psychological suspense of the Summer
Author(s): Lucy Atkins
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU