book cover of The Night Visitor
Added by 48 members
 

The Night Visitor

(2017)
A novel by

 
 


'Vivid, memorable and menacing' C.L. Taylor
'Compulsive' 5* reader review

She knows your secrets. And she'll make you pay.



As high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .

Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere, Lie With Me and He Said She Said.

PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:

'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie
'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian
'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child
'PROPULSIVE' - Metro
'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me
'SINISTER' - Red
'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear
'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror
'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie
'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review
'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street
'ENTHRALLING' - Heat
'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed
'INTELLIGENT'- Good Housekeeping

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant." - Fiona Barton

"Creepy, tense and unnerving." - Sharon Bolton

"Elegant, clever, beautifully written . . . Lucy Atkins is, quite frankly, a genius." - Joanna Cannon

"Clever, multilayered and morally murky." - Tammy Cohen

"Wonderfully creepy, in that clever way that is tied in with character as much as plot and setting." - Sabine Durrant

"Wonderfully dark and intriguing . . . Highly recommended." - Linda Green

"Thrillingly creepy and darkly funny . . . brilliant plotting and characters that crackle off the page. A ‘cannot tear yourself away’ novel." - Kate Hamer

"The tension is immediate and unrelenting; the sense of unease palpable . . . a gripping, Rendellesque read." - Mick Herron

"It put me in mind of Misery and Rebecca. Splendidly tense, creepy and enjoyable." - Sarah Hilary

"The moment I finished I wanted to read it all over again." - Clare Mackintosh

"Vivian Tester is one of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I’ve ever read . . . brilliant." - C L Taylor


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Lucy Atkins's The Night Visitor


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors