book cover of Game of Empires

Game of Empires

(2016)
(The first book in the Byzantine Saga series)
A novel by

 
 

Constantinople, 617 AD.



Chained up in a condemned cell, Rodi thinks it's the last day of his life.

It becomes the first.

Though only fourteen, his brains and skill at forgery make him too valuable for the Roman Empire to waste on a public execution.

The Lord Treasurer Alaric recruits him into a top secret security agency - his job, once trained, is to turn the tables in the Empire's war with the so far victorious Persians. With no one to help but a naive Christian missionary, Rodi must prove himself in a contest with the devotees of an obscene and bloody idol and a Persian spy.

Can young Rodi survive and come out on top in this ruthless and secret Game of Empires... ?

Game of Empires is a thrilling historical novella, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Bernard Cornwall and Conn Iggulden.

Praise for Richard Blake:



"Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much." - Derek Jacobi, star of I Claudius and Gladiator

"Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period... . Nasty, fun and educational." - The Daily Telegraph

"He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed." - The Mail on Sunday

"A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel." - Historical Novels

"It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy." - The Morning Star

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Emperor's Exile
(Eagles of the Empire, book 19)
Simon Scarrow
thumb
The Three Paradises
(Alexander's Legacy, book 2)
Robert Fabbri
thumb
War Lord
(Last Kingdom, book 13)
Bernard Cornwell

Used availability for Richard Blake's Game of Empires

Paperback Editions

March 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Game of Empires
Author(s): Richard Blake
ISBN: 1-5307-8096-9 / 978-1-5307-8096-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Game of Empires (The Byzantine Saga Book 1)
Author(s): Richard Blake
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU