New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Game of Empires

Game of Empires

A Novella by


Constantinople, 617 AD.

Chained up in a condemned cell, Rodi thinks it's the last day of his life.

It becomes the first.

Though only fourteen, his brains and skill at forgery make him too valuable for the Roman Empire to waste on a public execution.

The Lord Treasurer Alaric recruits him into a top secret security agency - his job, once trained, is to turn the tables in the Empire's war with the so far victorious Persians.

This is a story that takes you from the glittering palaces and sordid streets and brothels of the Imperial City, to the barbarian-ravaged provinces, to high mountain tops fringed with pine.

Here, with no one to help but a naive Christian missionary, Rodi must prove himself in a contest with the devotees of an obscene and bloody idol and a Persian spy.

Can young Rodi survive and come out on top in this ruthless and secret Game of Empires... ?

'Game of Empires' is a thrilling historical novella, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Bernard Cornwall and Conn Iggulden.

Praise for Richard Blake:

"Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much." Derek Jacobi, star of I Claudius and Gladiator

"Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period... . Nasty, fun and educational." The Daily Telegraph

"He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed." The Mail on Sunday

"A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel." Historical Novels

"It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy." The Morning Star

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

Used availability for Richard Blake's Game of Empires

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

March 2016 : Paperback
Title: Game of Empires
Author(s): Richard Blake
ISBN: 1-5307-8096-9 / 978-1-5307-8096-9
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

May 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Game of Empires
Author(s): Richard Blake
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for