New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Night Wind Howls

The Night Wind Howls

A collection of stories by

When Frederick Cowles died in 1948, he left behind two collections of supernatural fiction - "The Horror of Abbot's Grange" (1936) and "The Night Wind Howls" (1938) - which ranks amongst the rarest books in the genre. It was not until twenty-five years after his death that it was learned that Cowles had written a third, unpublished, collection of supernatural tales, entitled "Fear Walks the Night". These tales languished in obscurity, as did Cowles's previously published stories, and it was not until 1973, when Hugh Lamb included 'Terrible Mrs Greene' in his anthology "A Wave of Fear", that Cowles began to emerge from the shadows. Lamb was almost single-handedly responsible for resurrecting Cowle's weird tales from obscurity; and it was he who discovered, through correspondence with Cowles's widow, the existence of "Fear Walks the Night". "The Night Wind Howls" includes all sixty-one of Frederick Cowles's supernatural stories, reprinted from his three published volumes "The Horror of Abbot's Grange" (1936), "The Night Wind Howls" (1938) and "Fear Walks the Night" (1993) as well as an account of 'true' hauntings written by Cowles and never before reprinted. The collection has a foreword by the author's son, and is introduced by Hugh Lamb, who provides a fascinating look at an author whose works remained in shadow for so long. Please note that this limited edition hardback edition of "The Night Wind Howls" should not be confused with editions of the same name which do not include the stories from "The Horror of Abbot's Grange" and "Fear Walks the Night". This volume contains the complete sixty-one supernatural stories from all three volumes.


Used availability for Frederick Cowles's The Night Wind Howls

Hardback Editions

March 1999 : UK Hardback

Title: The Night Wind Howls: Complete Supernatural Stories
Author(s): Frederick Cowles
ISBN: 1-899562-66-4 / 978-1-899562-66-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ash-Tree Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 1999 : Hardback

Title: The Night Wind Howls
Author(s): Frederick Cowles
ISBN: 9997539818 / 978-9997539816
Publisher: Fred Muller & Assoc
Availability: Amazon UK