New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Westerlea House Mystery

(The second book in the Kempston Hardwick Mysteries series)
A novel by


"Adam Croft is one of the best new writers in Britain."
Stephen Leather

Oscar Whitehouse foretold his own death on live TV. Hours later, he's found dead in a locked room. But who killed him?

When TV psychic Oscar Whitehouse is found murdered inside a locked room, private detective Kempston Hardwick and his friend Ellis Flint are called in to investigate.

Within a matter of days, a second murder takes place in the small village of Tollinghill and a local resident claims she saw the already-dead Oscar Whitehouse at the scene, apparently alive and well. Hardwick and Flint realise they have more than just a conventional mystery in the village. Can they uncover the secret of the Tollinghill murders, before it's too late?

Interview with the Author

Q: Which order should the Kempston Hardwick books be read in?
A: I deliberately write them as standalone books, so they can be read in any order you like.

However, I know many readers like to read a series in the order in which it was written. The order of the Kempston Hardwick Mysteries were written in is:

  • Exit Stage Left

  • The Westerlea House Mystery

  • Death Under the Sun

  • The Thirteenth Room

Q: What sets the Kempston Hardwick books apart from other murder mystery novels?
The Kempston Hardwick books are all about the mystery. The focus isn't on action and car chases - it's a chance to put your own detection skills to the test as you try to solve the mystery before Hardwick and Flint.

The books are very much in the spirit of the Golden Age of detective fiction, with vivid characters, strong back stories and a twisting, turning plot full of suspense and intrigue. The books are mostly set in the fictional English village of Tollinghill.

There's also a good dose of humour, with the relationship between Hardwick and Flint and their own unique personalities providing a lot of laughs along the way.

The Kempston Hardwick Mysteries

The Westerlea House Mystery is the second in a series of mystery puzzles by English author Adam Croft, named as one of the 'best new crime novelists' by best-selling author Stephen Leather. Hardwick and Flint have become one of the best-loved detective duos of the modern day, with their crime capers ushering in a whole new genre of murder comedy and humorous twists on crime puzzles.

The books fall into a number of popular categories of detective fiction, including:

  • Traditional Detective Stories

  • Private Investigator Fiction

  • Crime Puzzles

  • Murder Mystery Novels

  • Private Detective Books

  • Thriller Detective Series

Used availability for Adam Croft's The Westerlea House Mystery

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

August 2013 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Westerlea House Mystery (Kempston Hardwick Mysteries Book 2)
Author(s): Adam Croft
ISBN: 1-4910-2149-7 / 978-1-4910-2149-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

August 2013 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Westerlea House Mystery (Kempston Hardwick Mysteries Book 2)
Author(s): Adam Croft
Publisher: Circlehouse
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for