book cover of Caligula and Three Other Plays
Added by 1 member

Caligula and Three Other Plays

A collection of stories by

Albert Camus notes in his Preface that, although he has "the most passionate attachment for the theater," he has "the misfortune" of liking only one kind of play, whether comic or tragic. He concludes that there is no true theater without language and style, nor any dramatic work which does not, like our classical drama and the Greek tragedians, involve human fate in all its simplicity and grandeur. Without claiming to equal them, he says, these four plays are "at least the models to set oneself." The plays making up this collection were written between 1938 and 1950, and include: Caligula ~ The Misunderstanding ~ State of Siege ~ The Just Assassins.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Albert Camus's Caligula and Three Other Plays

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors