book cover of The Inventor\'s Secret
Added by 4 of our members

The Inventor's Secret

(2014)
(The first book in the Inventor's Secret series)
A novel by

 
 
New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines.

Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET

* "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA, starred review

"[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Aurora Rising
(Aurora Cycle, book 1)
Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
thumb
Stalking Jack the Ripper
(Stalking Jack the Ripper, book 1)
Kerri Maniscalco
thumb
Caraval
(Caraval, book 1)
Stephanie Garber
thumb
Mirage
(Mirage, book 1)
Somaiya Daud

Used availability for Andrea Cremer's The Inventor's Secret

Hardback Editions

April 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Inventor's Secret
Author(s): Andrea Cremer
ISBN: 0-399-15962-2 / 978-0-399-15962-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2015 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(The Inventor's Secret)] [By (author) Andrea Cremer] published on (July, 2015)
Author(s): Andrea Cremer
Publisher: SPEAK
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Inventor's Secret: 1
Author(s): Andrea Cremer
ISBN: 0-14-751438-X / 978-0-14-751438-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Speak
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Inventor's Secret
Author(s): Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


April 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Inventor's Secret
Author(s): Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Inventor's Secret
Author(s): Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA