book cover of The Lost Power
Added by 3 of our members

The Lost Power

(2019)
(The first book in the VanOps series)
A novel by

 
 
DA VINCI CODE meets TOMB RAIDER in this award-winning thriller that #1 NYT bestselling author James Rollins called, "A book that defines 'page-turner.'"

Spain 1057: During a thunderous battle, the first King of Aragon wrestles Alexander the Great's priceless Egyptian weapon from the Moors, but finds it holds a terrifying and mysterious power.

Nearly a thousand years later, on a fog-shrouded Napa Valley morning, gunshots and the sound of breaking glass rip through the silence. Maddy Marshall, an app designer with special martial-arts abilities, and her twin brother, Will Argones, quickly run toward the sound. Horrified, they discover a sniper has cut down two members of their family.

Before the pool of blood on the living room floor is dry, their father sends the twins on a dangerous quest to recover Alexander's ancient weapon. Joined by a broad-shouldered friend who harbors a secret alliance with VanOps, an ultra-black covert agency, they soon discover the lethal sniper is from Russia.

They follow time-worn clues from a medieval Spanish castle to a lost warren under the streets of Jerusalem, racing to unlock the secrets that will lead them to an arcane power--before a hostile state seizes the power and cripples the United States.
 
To survive, they must go undercover and off-grid. No place is safe, a wrong move means death, and even a simple phone call is off limits. Because now, the sniper has his sights set on them. 



Fans of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, Steve Berry, and James Rollins will devour the pages of this instant #1 Barnes and Noble best seller.

THE LOST POWER is the first book in the fast-paced, multi-award-winning VanOps thriller series. If you enjoy smart edge-of-your-seat suspense, such as James Rollins THE LAST ODYSSEY, the Sean Wyatt series by Ernest Dempsey, the NOWHERE MAN by Gregg Hurwitz, ORIGIN by Dan Brown, Steve Berry's Cotton Malone series, the Atlee Pine series by David Baldacci, or the Sam and Remi Fargo adventures like THE ORACLE by Clive Cussler, you'll stay up late turning the pages of Avanti Centrae's high-stakes novel.

A rare multi-award-winning novel, THE LOST POWER took home a genre grand prize blue ribbon at the 2017 Chanticleer International Book Awards, an Honorable Mention at the 2018 Hollywood Book Festival, and a shiny bronze medal at the 2019 Wishing Shelf Book Awards.

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"Just a good ole’ fashioned rip-roaring adventure from start to finish. Enjoy the ride." - Steve Berry

"A high-stakes, daring adventure charged with suspense and mystery!" - Ann Charles

"I particularly enjoyed the exotic locations that the novel was set in, as well as how the author so cleverly blends techniques from ancient history with modern physics. This is a real page turner. Highly recommended." - John Anthony Miller

"Avanti Centrae’s VanOps: The Lost Power opens a tantalizing new series that combines historical mystery and cutting-edge science into a masterwork of international intrigue--with the promise of more to follow. Written with a dynamic, cinematic style and full of action and suspense, here’s a book that defines page-turner. Don’t miss this riveting debut!" - James Rollins

"I was really hooked by the pacing and intriguing story, and raced through it. I love the combination of science, history, and mysticism." - Sara Stamey


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Extinction Agenda
(Extinction Agenda, book 1)
Michael Laurence
thumb
Power Down
(Dewey Andreas, book 1)
Ben Coes
thumb
The Kaiser's Web
(Cotton Malone, book 16)
Steve Berry

Used availability for Avanti Centrae's The Lost Power

Hardback Editions

November 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
ISBN: 1-64437-196-0 / 978-1-64437-196-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Black Opal Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
ISBN: 1-64437-159-6 / 978-1-64437-159-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Black Opal Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
Publisher: Author's Republic
Availability: Amazon   


November 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
Publisher: Author's Republic
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
Publisher: Author's Republic
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
Publisher: Author's Republic
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: VanOps: The Lost Power
Author(s): Avanti Centrae
Publisher: Black Opal Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU