New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

A Prayer for Deliverance

A Prayer for Deliverance

(2003)
(The second book in the Angela Bivens Thriller series)
A novel by

 
Never try to outrun your past . . .

Tough-minded FBI special agent Angela Bivens is just beginning to put her life back together. Still reeling from the bloody showdown where she took the lives of two serial killers, one of whom was her lover, Angela is hell-bent on facing the future. She's enjoying the perks of a well-deserved promotion, as well as getting to know her new boyfriend on a romantic camping trip. All that changes when the FBI interrupts her relaxing getaway and puts her on a complicated high-profile case.

Inside a secluded Chesapeake bed-and-breakfast, Dr. Leslie Collins, a prominent African-American obstetrician, has been found dead and mutilated. His white mistress, a Clinton White House advisor, was also dead in their bed, apparently from a poisonous snakebite. And no one at the inn heard or saw a thing. Angela can't help but be shaken to the core - Dr. Collins was a family friend, and now it's up to her to apprehend the killer.
Angela's superiors at the Bureau suspect a shadowy white supremacy group that has been terrorizing abortion clinics and liberal leaders, but such tidy motives are soon discredited as other influential Black men from the worlds of business, politics, and religion start to share the doctor's gruesome fate. Angela's quest for justice deepens when she discovers the unlikely connections that link the men to one another, and to Antoine Jones, a convicted murderer on death row. Angela's investigation also uncovers disturbing evidence that these murders are bound to a world of spells and ancient prophecies rooted in South African witchcraft, and of age-old vendettas being played out in a very modern D.C.

In this compelling, action-packed sequel to the riveting debut Sympathy for the Devil, Christopher Chambers captivates his readers with an unpredictable plot that pits this strong and savvy female protagonist against a cast of formidable foes - both human and supernatural. His innovative blend of images from traditional African mysticism and the vivid landscape of our nation's capital breathes new life into the suspense thriller genre. Fans of Walter Mosley, Thomas Harris, and Patricia Cornwell will all love this remarkably spellbinding page-turner.

 
Used availability for Christopher Chambers's A Prayer for Deliverance


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

February 2003 : USA Hardback
Title: A Prayer for Deliverance: An Angela Bivens Thriller
Author(s): Christopher Chambers
ISBN: 0-609-60850-9 / 978-0-609-60850-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for