New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

Silent Multitude / Synthajoy / Steel Crocodile

An omnibus of novels by

Best known for his prescient 1974 novel The Continuous Katherine Mortenhoe, Comptonhas three more incisive SF novels collected here

The Silent Multitude: Set in the near future, this story finds the super-modern, gleaming city of Gloucester, England completely redesigned and rebuilt to the principles of "scientific city planning." The city is threatened with extinction by a mysterious spore from space that brings mankind's proud structures crashing to the ground. Synthajoy: Would you like to experience firsthand the emotions of a great artist, the sublime peace of a saint, the happiness of a child at Christmas? Try Sensitape. Or perhaps you had something more passionate in mind. Don't be shy. Ask for Sexitape. And for the true connoisseur, we have the ultimate human experience: a distinguished blend of synthetic ecstasies. The world is not ready for it, but perhaps you are. We call it Synthajoy. The Steel Crocodile: In answer to an unanswerable future, science has created Bohn, the omnipotent computer whose flashing circuits and messianic pronouncements dictate what tomorrow will - or will not - be. But Matthew Oliver is flesh and blood and full of questions - not nearly as certain as the machine he's appointed to serve. And the right hand of science seldom knows what the left hand is doing.

Used availability for D G Compton's Silent Multitude / Synthajoy / Steel Crocodile

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

March 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: D.G. Compton SF Gateway Omnibus: Synthajoy, The Steel Crocodile, Ascendancies (Sf Gateway Library)
Author(s): D G Compton
ISBN: 0-575-11810-5 / 978-0-575-11810-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gateway
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for