New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
D G Compton's picture

D G Compton

(David Guy Compton)
UK flag (1930 - )

aka Frances Lynch

David Guy Compton was born in London in 1930. He is a British science fiction author who publishes SF under the name D.G. Compton. His earlier crime novels were published under 'Guy Compton', and his Gothic novels under 'Frances Lynch'. He is best known for The Continuous Katherine Mortenhoe, a classic of British SF that exposed the pitfalls of voyeuristic entertainment decades before the likes of 'The Truman Show'.
The Quality of Mercy (1965)
Farewell, Earth's Bliss (1966)
The Silent Multitude (1967)
Synthajoy (1968)
The Palace (1969)
Chronocules (1970)
     aka Hot Wireless Sets, Aspirin Tablets, the Sandpaper Slides of Used Matchboxes, and Something that Might have been Castor Oil
The Steel Crocodile (1970)
     aka The Electric Crocodile
Hot Wireless Sets, etc. (1971)
The Missionaries (1972)
A Dangerous Magic (1978) (as by Frances Lynch)
A usual lunacy (1978)
Ascendancies (1980)
The Unsleeping Eye (1980)
Deathwatch (1981)
Scudder's Game (1988)
Ragnarok (1991) (with John Gribbin)
Nomansland (1993)
Justice City (1994)
Back of Town Blues (1996)


Anthologies containing stories by D G Compton
Short stories
It's Smart to Have an English Address (1967)

Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1971) : The Steel Crocodile

Search for