book cover of The Lost Girl of Berlin
Added by 3 of our members

The Lost Girl of Berlin

(2021)
(The second book in the Daughters of New York series)
A novel by

 
 
The truck stopped for a moment in the freezing, bombed-out street and Kate caught sight of a little girl in a ragged dress on the steps of a once-beautiful mansion. The child’s eyes were startling blue, a pair of endless pools, drawing Kate towards her…

1946, Berlin. War correspondent Kate Mancini is in Germany, reporting on the aftermath of the devastating war. For her readers back home in New York, she tells the stories of innocent families, trying to rebuild the wreckage of their lives now the soldiers have left at last. But in the Russian-held sector of Berlin on an icy winter’s day, Kate breaks all the rules, rescuing Mia Stein, a silent orphan who she fears will otherwise perish.

Together with her fellow journalist, handsome Rick Shearer, Kate manages to find a safe house for Mia before she returns to America and vows to keep in touch. Back home, the reality of post-war life for women is stark. Whilst Rick walks into his dream job, no newspaper will hire a woman. The editors laugh her out of their offices, telling her to get married and raise a family. Rick does all he can to support her, as she takes her first steps towards the new medium of television news, and their friendship deepens into something more.

Then tragedy strikes: Rick is falsely named as a communist sympathizer. He is arrested, blacklisted and faces prison.

Kate knows she must do all she can to free the man she loves. But that means returning to Germany, to seek out the little orphan girl who is her only chance at salvation. Kate and Rick saved Mia—will she help them both now? And even if Kate succeeds, freedom might never be hers when she returns home…

From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, All the Light We Cannot See and My Name is Eva will be totally captivated.

Readers are totally captivated by The Lost Girl of Berlin:

‘Historical fiction lovers, this is a MUST READ!Heartbreaking story will move you to tearsExceptional and will no doubt be in my top reads of 2021.’ Fourchalk Enterprises ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Moved me to tears… My first book by Ella Carey and I am already a fan!The Ardent Leo

Beautiful and beautifully written! I devoured it and couldn’t help but love and root for this amazing characters I grew quickly to love!… I adored the story, it’s simply awe-inspiring how much these people went through!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘A very good, quick enjoyable book! This author can somehow capture your attention from the first page and before you know it you’re at the end of an awesome book!… Another fabulous novel by Ella Carey!’ Avid Reader

‘I loved this book… Beautifully written and heart-wrenching at times, with a nice flow and pace and well-developed characters that were likable and relatable. I could not put this down and read it in one sitting.’ Vixen Reads

‘A gripping tale… If you like well-researched historical fiction which takes a well-known era by a different angle, this is certainly the book for you.’ Fiction Goddess

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ella Carey's The Lost Girl of Berlin

Paperback Editions

July 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Girl of Berlin: Gripping and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical fiction (Daughters of New York)
Author(s): Ella Carey
ISBN: 1-80019-217-7 / 978-1-80019-217-1
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Girl of Berlin: Gripping and Heart-Wrenching World War 2 Historical Fiction (Daughters of New York)
Author(s): Ella Carey
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Girl of Berlin: Gripping and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical fiction (Daughters of New York)
Author(s): Ella Carey
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU