New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Wilful Eye

The Wilful Eye

(The first book in the Tales from the Tower series)
An anthology of stories edited by

Six of the world's most exciting and best - loved writers have chosen fairytales as inspiration for this spellbinding and subversive short - story collection. Six writers - Margo Lanagan, Rosie Borella, Isobelle Carmody, Richard Harland, Margaret Mahy and Martine Murray - have taken inspiration from stories that have shaped us all, tales like 'Beauty and the Beast,' 'The Steadfast Tin Soldier' and 'The Snow Queen'. This collection carries universal themes of envy and desire, deception and abandonment, courage and sacrifice.

Characters are enchanted, they transgress, they yearn, they hunger, they hate and, sometimes, they kill.

Some of the stories inhabit a traditional fairytale world, while others are set in the distant future. Some are set in the present and some in an alternative present. The stories offer no prescription for living or moral advice and none belong in a nursery.

Open the covers and submit to their enchantment.

    Get it on Google Play

Used availability for Isobelle Carmody's The Wilful Eye

Kindle Editions

April 2011 : UK Kindle edition

Title: The Wilful Eye (Tales from the Tower Volume One): 1
Author(s): Isobelle Carmody, Nan McNab, and (eds)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon UK