Isobelle Carmody's picture
Followed by 10 of our members

Isobelle Carmody

(Isobelle Jane Carmody)
Australia (b.1958)

Isobelle Carmody began the first novel of her highly acclaimed Obernewtyn Chronicles while she was still in high school. The series has established her at the forefront of fantasy writing in Australia.

Isobelle was the guest of honor at the 2007 Australian National Science Fiction Convention. She has received numerous honors for her writing, including multiple Aurealis Awards and Children's Book Council of Australia Awards.

She currently divides her time between her home on the Great Ocean Road in Australia and her travels abroad with her partner and daughter.

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy, Children's Fiction
Series contributed to
Anthology series
Anthologies containing stories by Isobelle Carmody
Short stories
The Phoenix (1996)

Isobelle Carmody recommends
Ferren and the Angel (2003)
(Heaven And Earth Trilogy, book 1)
Richard Harland
"... a profoundly original fantasy..."
Awakening (2008)
(Twins of Saranthium, book 1)
Lara Morgan
"Lara is that rare find in fantasy, a skilled and original world-maker who can also create extraordinary, wonderfully realistic characters."
The One and Only Jack Chant (2014)
Rosie Borella
"Brave, compassionate and plain-spoken Amber is the best kind of heroine."
Lotus Blue (2017)
Cat Sparks
"Astonishingly rich in ideas and concepts and the world building is truly breathtaking in its breadth and originality. Lotus Blue is a revelation."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors