book cover of The House of Brides
Added by 12 of our members

The House of Brides

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Jane Cockram makes her thrilling debut with this page-turning tale of psychological suspense in which a young woman whose life is in tatters flees to the safety of a family estate in England, but instead of comfort finds chilling secrets and lies.

Miranda’s life and career has been a roller-coaster ride. Her successful rise to the top of the booming lifestyle industry as a social media influencer led to a humiliating fall after a controversial product she endorsed flopped. Desperate to get away from the hate-spewing trolls shaming her on the internet, she receives a mysterious letter from a young cousin in England that plunges her into a dark family mystery.

Miranda’s mother Tessa Summers, a famous author, died when Miranda was a child. The young woman’s only connection to the Summers family is through Tessa’s famous book The House of Brides—a chronicle of the generations of women who married into the infamous Summers family and made their home in the rambling Barnsley House, the family’s estate. From Gertrude Summers, a famed crime novelist, to Miranda’s grandmother Beatrice, who killed herself after setting fire to Barnsley while her children slept, each woman in The House of Brides is more notorious than the next. The house’s current “bride” is the beautiful, effervescent Daphne, her Uncle Max’s wife—a famed celebrity chef who saved Barnsley from ruin turning the estate into an exclusive culinary destination and hotel.

Curious about this legendary family she has never met, Miranda arrives at Barnsley posing as a prospective nanny answering an advertisement. She’s greeted by the compelling yet cold housekeeper Mrs. Mins, and meets the children and her Uncle Max—none of whom know her true identity. But Barnsley is not what Miranda expected. The luxury destination and award-winning restaurant is gone, and Daphne is nowhere to be found. Most disturbing, one of the children is in a wheelchair after a mysterious accident. What happened in this house? Where is Daphne? What darkness lies hidden in Barnsley?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Jane Cockram captivates with her haunting debut novel, The House of Brides. With echoes of Daphne du Maurier, it examines the inescapable ties of family and what happens when a complex tangle of secrets starts to unravel. Gripping, atmospheric and with an ending you won't see coming, this book held me in its spell long after the final page. A sure-fire bestseller." - Sally Hepworth

"Jane Cockram's The House of Brides is a twisty, turny ride through the English countryside. Set in a spooky manor home on a rocky coast, this is the story of multiple generations of powerful women whose actions lead to a mystery that winds through the ages. Cockram's descriptions are so lush that you'll have no problem immersing yourself in the location but you won't be prepared for the explosive ending. Fans of Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights and Rebecca will love this!" - Ellen LaCorte


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Fair Warning
(Jack McEvoy, book 3)
Michael Connelly
thumb
The Inner Darkness
(Cold Case Quartet, book 3)
Jørn Lier Horst
thumb
Camino Winds
(Camino Island, book 2)
John Grisham

Used availability for Jane Cockram's The House of Brides

Hardback Editions

October 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 0-06-293929-7 / 978-0-06-293929-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 0-06-293930-0 / 978-0-06-293930-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 0-06-294479-7 / 978-0-06-294479-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 0-06-297711-3 / 978-0-06-297711-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 1-09-402620-4 / 978-1-09-402620-6
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: Library Edition
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 1-09-402619-0 / 978-1-09-402619-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
ISBN: 1-09-402621-2 / 978-1-09-402621-3
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The House of Brides
Author(s): Jane Cockram
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The House of Brides
Author(s): Jane Cockram
Publisher: HQ Fiction
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2019 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The House of Brides: A Novel
Author(s): Jane Cockram
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA