book cover of The Fallen Girls
Added by 13 of our members

The Fallen Girls

(2020)
(The first book in the Detective Clara Jefferies series)
A novel by

 
 
She didn’t notice the corn stalks shiver a few feet to her right. By the time she looked up, the man towered above her. In a single movement he wrapped one thick hand around her waist, the other he clamped over her mouth, muffling her screams.

Detective Clara Jefferies has spent years running from her childhood in Alber, Utah. But when she hears that her baby sister Delilah has disappeared, she knows that the peaceful community will be shattered, her family vulnerable, and that that she must face up to her past and go home.

Clara returns to find that her mother, Ardeth, has isolated her family by moving to the edge of town, in the shadow of the mountains. Ardeth refuses to talk to the police and won’t let Clara through the front door, believing she and her sister-wives can protect their own. But Clara knows better than anyone that her mother isn’t always capable of protecting her children.

When Clara finds out that two more girls have disappeared, all last seen around the cornfields near her family’s home, she realizes it’s not just Delilah who’s in danger. And then she gets a call that a body has been found…

Clara will have to dig deep into the town’s secrets if she’s going to find Delilah. But that will mean confronting the reason she left. And as she gets closer to Delilah, she might be putting her more at risk…

Gripping and spine-chilling, readers will love Detective Clara Jefferies, reading The Fallen Girls deep into the night. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh won’t stop turning the pages of this unforgettable new series from bestselling and award-winning author Kathryn Casey.

What readers are saying about The Fallen Girls:


WOW, WOW, WOW, WOW!... Kathryn Casey has written an amazing book… I cannot wait to pick up where this novel left off! You will not be able to put this book down - fabulous!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

I absolutely LOVED this book… The book jumps right into the story and catches your attention from page one and holds it throughout.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“I loved this book!!... It’s absolutely brilliant… A compulsive read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I was sucked in from page one and couldn’t put it down… I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series!... A cracking read.” Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars

“Wow… Kept me interested from page one. I didn't want the book to finish. Brilliant mystery… Can’t wait to read more by this author.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

“The start of a new series and I can't wait to read more… This book kept me reading late into the night I HAD TO KNOW THE TRUTH. Full of tension and suspense.” Goodreads reviewer

First I’ve read by this author and it will not be the last. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It had a great storyline that kept you guessing until the end. Could not put this one down.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Deep into the Dark
(Detective Margaret Nolan, book 1)
P J Tracy
thumb
The Lies We Bury
(Cage Foster, book 1)
Stacy Green

Used availability for Kathryn Casey's The Fallen Girls

Paperback Editions

May 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Fallen Girls: An absolutely unputdownable and gripping crime thriller: 1 (Detective Clara Jefferies)
Author(s): Kathryn Casey
ISBN: 1-83888-602-8 / 978-1-83888-602-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fallen Girls: Detective Clara Jefferies, Book 1
Author(s): Kathryn Casey
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fallen Girls: Detective Clara Jefferies, Book 1
Author(s): Kathryn Casey
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fallen Girls: Detective Clara Jefferies, Book 1
Author(s): Kathryn Casey
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Fallen Girls: Detective Clara Jefferies, Book 1
Author(s): Kathryn Casey
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Fallen Girls: An absolutely unputdownable and gripping crime thriller (Detective Clara Jefferies Book 1)
Author(s): Kathryn Casey
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU