book cover of Rules for Being a Girl
Added by 4 of our members

Rules for Being a Girl

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Candace Bushnell, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days, team up to write a fierce, propulsive novel about a girl who is preyed upon by a manipulative teacher and finds the power to fight back. Perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa

It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl. . . .

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright—and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk books with her.

But when “Bex” takes things too far and comes on to Marin, she’s shocked and horrified. Had she somehow led him on? Was it her fault?

When Marin works up the courage to tell the administration what happened, no one believes her. She’s forced to face Bex in class every day. Except now, he has an ax to grind.

But Marin isn’t about to back down. She uses the school newspaper to fight back and she starts a feminist book club at school. She finds allies—and even romance—in the most unexpected people, like Gray Kendall, who she’d always dismissed as just another lacrosse bro.

As things heat up at school and in her personal life, Marin must figure out how to take back the power and write her own rules.

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Katie Cotugno's Rules for Being a Girl

Hardback Editions

April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
ISBN: 0-06-280337-9 / 978-0-06-280337-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

January 2021 : USA Paperback

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
ISBN: 0-06-280338-7 / 978-0-06-280338-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
ISBN: 1-5290-3608-9 / 978-1-5290-3608-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
ISBN: 1-09-411872-9 / 978-1-09-411872-7
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
ISBN: 1-09-411873-7 / 978-1-09-411873-4
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl: Library Edition
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
ISBN: 1-09-411871-0 / 978-1-09-411871-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2020 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Rules for Being a Girl
Author(s): Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA