New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

The Underworld

The Underworld

(2017)
A novel by

 
For readers of Russell Banks and Richard Ford, a novel about loss, love, and redemption following a catastrophe in a small mining town.

In The Underworld, Kevin Canty tells a story inspired by the facts of a disastrous fire that took place in an isolated silver mining town in Idaho in the 1970s, in which almost everyone in town lost a friend, a lover, a brother, or a husband. The Underworld imagines the fates of a handful of fictional survivors and their loved ones - Jordan, a young widow with twin children; David, a college student trying to make a life for himself in another town; Lionel, a lifelong hard-rock miner - as they struggle to come to terms with the loss. It's a tough, hard-working, hard-drinking town, a town of whores and priests and bar fights, but nobody's tough enough to get through this undamaged. A powerful and unforgettable tale about small-town lives and the healing power of love in the midst of suffering.

 
Used availability for Kevin Canty's The Underworld


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

March 2017 : USA Hardback
Title: The Underworld: A Novel
Author(s): Kevin Canty
ISBN: 0-393-29305-X / 978-0-393-29305-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

March 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Underworld: A Novel
Author(s): Kevin Canty
ISBN: 1-4417-3106-7 / 978-1-4417-3106-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Underworld: A Novel
Author(s): Kevin Canty
ISBN: 1-4417-3109-1 / 978-1-4417-3109-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

March 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Underworld: Library Edition
Author(s): Kevin Canty
ISBN: 1-4417-3105-9 / 978-1-4417-3105-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

March 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: The Underworld: A Novel
Author(s): Kevin Canty
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Search for