David Mitchell's picture
411 books added

David Mitchell

UK flag (b.1969)

David Mitchell was born in 1969 and his first novel, Ghostwritten, was published by Sceptre in 1999 to great acclaim and won the Mail on Sunday / John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. His second novel, Number9dream (2001) was shortlisted for the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. He was chosen as one of Granta's 20 Best Young British Novelists 2003.

Genres: Science Fiction, Horror, Literary Fiction
   Ghostwritten (1999)
   Number9dream (1999)
   Cloud Atlas (2004)
   Black Swan Green (2005)
   The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (2010)
   The Bone Clocks (2014)
   Slade House (2015)
   Utopia Avenue (2020)
   I'm with the Bears (2011) (with others)
Non fiction show
David Mitchell recommends
The Broken Places (2023)
Russell Franklin
"Sunlit and dark, painful and joyous, The Broken Places follows Ernest Hemingway's child on a lifelong journey. Russell Franklin has crafted a myth-busting novel of rare skill and integrity. Its echoes persist and evolve long after the final pages."
The Mountain in the Sea (2022)
Ray Nayler
"I loved this novel's brain and heart, its hidden traps, sheer propulsion, ingenious world-building and the purity of its commitment to luminous ideas."
I Was the President's Mistress!! (2022)
Miguel Syjuco
"A super-typhoon of a novel. A Babel of rogues, survivors and shape-shifters. A polemic against corruption and greed. A sassy, swerving mini-series, touched by grace and beauty. A Filipino Bonfire of the Vanities for our beleaguered times. An uncompromising work of art."

More recommendations 

Books containing stories by David Mitchell
First Edition (2020)
Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books
edited by
Daniel Gedeon and David Headley
By the Book (2014)
Writers On Literature and the Literary Life
edited by
Pamela Paul

More books 

2015 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel : The Bone Clocks
2005 Richard and Judy Award : Cloud Atlas
2003 Granta Best of Young British Novelists

Award nominations
2014 Booker Prize (longlist) : The Bone Clocks
2011 Walter Scott Prize for Best Historical Novel (nominee) : The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
2011 Macavity Award for Best Historical Novel (nominee) : The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
2011 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel (nominee) : The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
2010 Booker Prize (longlist) : The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
2006 Costa Book Award for Best Novel (nominee) : Black Swan Green
2006 Booker Prize (longlist) : Black Swan Green
2005 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Cloud Atlas
2005 Arthur C. Clarke Award (nominee) : Cloud Atlas
2004 Nebula Award for Best Novel (nominee) : Cloud Atlas
2004 James Tait Black Memorial Prize (nominee) : Cloud Atlas
2004 Booker Prize (shortlist) : Cloud Atlas
2001 James Tait Black Memorial Prize (nominee) : Number9dream
2001 Booker Prize (shortlist) : Number9dream

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors