book cover of What You Don\'t See
Added by 5 of our members

What You Don't See

(2020)
(The third book in the Chicago Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 

Cass Raines knows the streets of Chicago all too well as a cop turned private investigator. A new case gives a glimpse into how the other half lives – and how they die…

Wealth. Power. Celebrity. Vonda Allen’s glossy magazine has taken the Windy City by storm, and she’s well on her way to building a one-woman media empire. Everybody adores her. Except the people who work for her. And the person who’s sending her flowers with death threats.

Vonda has employed off-duty cop Ben Mickerson as her bodyguard and when he needs some back-up no one fits the bill better than his ex-partner on the police force, Cass Raines. Cass is reluctant to take the job – she isn’t keen on playing babysitter to a celebrity – but agrees to as a favour to Ben.

When two of Vonda’s staff turn up dead, Ben and Cass must find the unknown assailant before someone else dies. Then Ben is taken out of action, Cass is left to find out what secrets Vonda is keeping, and who wants her dead. A task made even harder by enemies in the Chicago Police Department determined to stop Cass…

An explosive third novel from thrilling crime novelist, which fans of Ian K. Smith, Sue Grafton and the Cormoran Strike novels will love.

Praise for Tracy Clark

‘This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.’ Booklist

Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.’ Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

‘Clark’s kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines.’ Kirkus Reviews

‘Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.’ Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tracy Clark 2's What You Don't See

Hardback Editions

May 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: What You Don't See (A Chicago Mystery)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
ISBN: 1-4967-1493-8 / 978-1-4967-1493-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: What You Don't See (The Chicago Mystery Series)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
ISBN: 1-66448-895-2 / 978-1-66448-895-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc. and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: What You Don't See
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: What You Don't See
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: What You Don't See
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: What You Don't See
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: What You Don't See: A gripping private investigator series (A Cass Raines Mystery Book 3)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: What You Don't See (A Chicago Mystery Book 3)
Author(s): Tracy Clark
Publisher: Kensington Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA