New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>
book cover of 

Singularity

Singularity

(2005)
(The first book in the Archon Sequence series)
A novel by

 

"A swift gripping novel with a goose-pimple mix of scary science and near-future action. An excellent debut from Bill DeSmedt."
Greg Bear


Singularity is a swift, gripping novel with a goose-pimple mix of scary science and near-future action. An excellent debut from Bill DeSmedt - and I'll be looking forward to his next one!"
- GREG BEAR, New York Times bestselling author

"One of the best debuts of the year!"
- Barnes & Noble's Explorations

"DeSmedt veers an action-packed thriller into perilous realms of black hole physics. The combination of adrenaline and intellect sizzles."
- DAVID BRIN, New York Times bestselling author

"Singularity juggles Clancy, Crichton and The Da Vinci Code. An innovative concept for an end-of-the-world thriller, with convincing research and locomotive pacing."
- KEVIN J. ANDERSON, New York Times bestselling author

Synopsis:
June 30th, 1908 - In the remote Tunguska region of Siberia, the most violent cosmic collision in recorded history flattened ancient forests over an area half the size of Rhode Island. Yet after a hundred years of international scientific research the cause of this impact remains a mystery.

A MAVERICK ASTROPHYSICIST
Jack Adler thinks he's fingered the culprit: a submicroscopic black hole, smaller than an atom, heavier than a mountain, older than the stars. What's more, that fantastic object is still down there, deep inside the Earth, burrowing through the mantle in an ever-decaying orbit that will end only when it has devoured the entire planet.

A ROOKIE SECRET AGENT
Marianna Bonaventure is tracking three missing scientists suspected of involvement in weapons of mass destruction research. The trail leads to Rusalka, the luxurious floating corporate headquarters of billionaire Russian industrialist Arkady Grishin. Determined to prove herself, Marianna creates an elaborate ruse in order to infiltrate the megayacht - a dangerous gambit that requires the coerced cooperation of a rather special civilian ...

AN UNCANNY CONSULTANT
Jonathan Knox is one of the country's most sought-after analysts; his knack for intuiting hidden relationships among seemingly disparate events serves his Fortune-50 clients well. But when Marianna compels the reluctant Knox to join her undercover mission, he must grapple with puzzles of a whole different order of magnitude.

Against violent and cunning opposition, the three of them unearth a scheme to capture the submicroscopic black hole that caused the Tunguska Event and use its awesome power to transform the world - or end it altogether.

Bill DeSmedt's debut is a tour-de-force of breakneck plotting, complex characters, and cutting-edge science. In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Greg Bear, Singularity weaves a richly detailed and intelligent tale, meticulously researched and elegantly told.

 
Used availability for Bill DeSmedt's Singularity


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

September 2005 : USA Hardback
Title: Singularity (The Archon Sequence)
Author(s): Bill DeSmedt
ISBN: 0-9745734-4-2 / 978-0-9745734-4-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Per Aspera Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

May 2014 : USA Paperback
Title: Singularity (The Archon Sequence) (Volume 1)
Author(s): Bill DeSmedt
ISBN: 0-9745734-8-5 / 978-0-9745734-8-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Per Aspera Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for